College of Education Awards Six Hattie M. Strong Foundation Strong Scholarships

02/07/2017 College of Education

Greensboro, N.C. (Feb. 7, 2017) - The College of Education at North Carolina A&T State University recently awarded six undergraduate, teacher education students Hattie M. Strong Foundation Strong Scholarships totaling $30,000.

The recipients included Simone Paige, Lakota Maize, Morgan Trogdon, Jennifer Williams, Ny-Ayja Boyd and Brooke Reynolds. The students are currently enrolled in their semester-long student teaching experience in a K-12 public school classroom and will graduate after the spring 2017 semester.

“We treasure our sustained partnership and relationship with the Hattie M. Strong Foundation,” said Dr. Anthony Graham, dean of the College of Education. “For four consecutive years, the Hattie M. Strong Foundation has provided financial support to high-performing senior-level educator preparation candidates.”

“These awards allow our candidates to focus entirely on their student teaching experience, which affords them greater opportunities to forge relationships with their students, instructional colleagues and the communities their respective schools serve. These are the types of financial awards necessary to ensure we produce skilled classroom teachers for our public schools.”

Undergraduate students enrolled in teacher-training programs are eligible for the Hattie M. Strong Foundation scholarship program. Selection is determined by each institution’s scholarship committee in accordance with additional requirements. The awards are designed to reduce financial pressure during the student-teaching semester when a student’s ability to offset expenses with outside employment is curtailed by the rigor of full-time work in the classroom.