College of Science and Technology


Our mission in the Department of Physics to provide you a world-class education and research training. From sub-atomic particles to space to the human brain, our faculty provide you a well-rounded interdisciplinary perspective that will prepare you for a variety of careers in traditional as well as interdisciplinary. Whether you join the traditional bachelor's program or one of our concentrations in Biological Physics, Engineering Physics, Interdisciplinary Physics, and Physics Secondary Education, you will learn critical thinking and practical problem-solving skills that are in high demand in academia and industry.

As a student you will find the faculty, facilities, and financial support to achieve your goals, whether it is in academia or industry. We pride ourselves at our low student-to-faculty ratio. Our recent graduates have gone on to work at Lockheed Martin, NASA, Ford Motor Co., General Electric, IBM, the Environmental Protection Agency, Space Force, and at high schools and universities.

Laser ring
With 12 full-time faculty members our department has expertise in a variety of sub-disciplines covering every facet of contemporary research in Physics and Atmospheric Sciences and Meteorology. Our faculty perform research in Astronomy, Atmospheric Science and Meteorology, Biological Physics, Material Science, Nuclear Physics, Space Sciences, and Physics Education Research with opportunities for both undergraduate and graduate students.

Degrees Offered

Undergraduate Programs

  • Bachelor of Science in Atmospheric Sciences and Meteorology
  • Bachelor of Science in Physics
  • Minor in Physics
  • Apply: Undergraduate Admissions

Graduate Programs

  • Masters in Science in Physics
  • Ph.D. in Applied Science and Technology - Applied Physics Concentration
  • Ph.D. in Applied Science and Technology - Atmospheric, Environmental, & Energy Science (AST-AEE) Concentration
  • Apply: Graduate Admissions

Recent Student Scholars

EPP ScholarsTwo ASME students Richarde Graham II (second from right) and Hailey Poole (third from right) were honorably selected for 2022 Educational Partnership Program with Minority Serving Institutions (EPP/MSI) scholar at the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA). Before joining the NOAA program, both Graham and Poole were the 2021-2022 GeoPath Scholars in the ASME/Physics department.


Dr. Ashot Gasparian
Chair (Interim), Professor
Marteena Hall, 101
Helen Clark,
Administrative Assistant
Marteena Hall, 101
(336) 285-2105