Threat Assessment Team

The University's Threat Assessment Team was established by the Chancellor to assist in addressing situations where students, faculty or staff are displaying disruptive or threatening behaviors that potentially endanger and their own or others' health and safety. This Committee is also responsible for coordinating a collaborative, multidisciplinary assessment and response approach to critical campus incidents, which are defined as incidents which are fraught with danger or risk, perilous; forming the nature of a crisis, critical; and may include but not be limited to:

  • Harm to self
  • Harm to others
  • Diminished ability to care for self
  • Significant disruption to the learning or working environment

It is the responsibility of the faculty, staff, and students to immediately report any situation that could possibly result in harm to anyone at the University. Any member of the campus community may become aware of a troubling person or situation that is causing serious anxiety, stress, or fear. If so, in cases where a person may pose an immediate risk of violence to his or her self or others, the University Police Department should be contacted immediately at 336-334-7675.

The University Threat Assessment Committee has been charged by the Chancellor with the following responsibilities:

  • Establish a protocol for identifying and responding to students who potentially pose a threat to themselves or others;
  • Develop a comprehensive program to educate faculty, staff and students about how to best recognize signs and know indicators of violence, suicide and mental illness; and collaborate with institutional resources available to assist with these situations;
  • Educate community members on issues related to privacy of educational and medical/physiological records, including clarification of policies related to FERPA, HIPAA and state laws; and
  • Develop a policy for involuntary withdrawal of students, who demonstrate through their behavior that they potentially pose a threat to themselves or others, but who may not have otherwise violated the campus Code of Conduct.

Threat Assessment Committee Members





Melody Pierce (Chair)

VC for Student Affairs


Jermaine Cherry

AVC/Chief of Police


Vivian Barnette

Director of Counseling Services


John Lowney

Director of Housing and Residence Life


Louisa Newman

Director of Environment Health and Safety


Godfrey Uzochukwu

Director of the Waste Management Institute


Marc Williams

Dean of Students


Phyllis Ford-Booker

Associate Professor of Psychology


Travis Auman

Emergency Management Director


Christina Brogdon

AVC Division of Human Resources


LTC (R) Joshua Jones

Director of Veterans and Disability Support Services


Niakesha Frazier

Student Health Center


Dawn Murphy

AVC for Student Development


Donna Blue

Director of Student Conduct

Breona Hayes Title IX Coordinator

Melissa Holloway General Counsel

Sheena Cobrand Deputy General Counsel

Rashanda Lowery Student Activites & Campus Involvement

Policy Information

Threat Assessment Resources