Emergency Management Team

No facility, organization or community, including North Carolina A&T, is immune from disaster.

Emergencies can arise at any time and from various natural or manmade causes. The best way to minimize potential loss and speed up the recovery from events such as hurricanes, snow storms, fires, terrorist acts, etc. is to plan ahead.

In order to respond effectively to emergency situations, N.C. A&T maintains an Emergency Management Plan and has created an Emergency Operations Center and an Emergency Management Team. The team is trained to evaluate and respond to major emergency situations using the Incident Command System (ICS). ICS ensures effective management of the people, organizations, and resources utilized in response to emergencies

The University is dependent on many interconnected services for the success of the day-to-day operations and has applied that same concept to the management of emergencies by the creation of its Emergency Management Team (EMT). The University’s EMT provides a framework within which essential units come together to coordinate the response to an emergency.

Emergency Management Team Committee Members

Name

Title

Phone

Email

Charles Wilson

AVC/Chief of Police

336-334-7128

cewilso3@ncat.edu

Kelly White

Major of Operations

336-334-7128

ktwhite@ncat.edu

Vacant

Emergency Management Coordinator

336-285-2405

Vacant

David Lennon

Interim Director of Physical Plant

336-285-4526

lennon@ncat.edu

Christopher Couch

Research Operations Manager

336-334-7995

couchc@ncat.edu

Billy Edringston

Associate Athletic Director

336-334-7686

edringst@ncat.edu

Vacant

Deputy General Counsel

336-285-3084

Vacant

Andrew Perkins

AVC of Facilities

336-285-4551

perkins@ncat.edu

Angela Peterson

Director of Auxiliary Services

336-334-7876

angelap@ncat.edu

Vacant

Director of Housing and Residence Life

336-334-7708

Vacant

Louisa Newman

Director of Environment Health and Safety

336-334-7032

lvthomas@ncat.edu

Sheila Allen

Interim Director of ITS Business Operations

336-285-2383

sjallen@ncat.edu

Todd Simmons

AVC for University Relations

336-256-0863

thsimmons@ncat.edu