Jeanne Clery Act Compliance Team

The Jeanne Clery Disclosure of Campus Security Policy and Campus Crime Statistics Act (20 USC § 1092(f)) is the landmark federal law, originally known as the Campus Security Act, that requires colleges and universities across the United States to disclose information about crime on and around their campuses. The law is tied to an institution's participation in federal student financial aid programs and it applies to most institutions of higher education both public and private. The Act is enforced by the United States Department of Education.

The University’s Clery Act Compliance Committee (CACC) is responsible for meeting all compliance and other requirements for the Jeanne Clery Disclosure of Campus Security Policy and Campus Crime Statistics Act (Clery Act). This committee, reports to the Vice Chancellor for Student Affairs and the Chief of the University Police Department. The CAAC provides the leadership to ensure full compliance in the areas of reporting, implementing policies and procedures, updating the annual reporting list, and providing educational programs.

The CACC shall meet a minimum of three times each year in February, June and August. The February meeting is designed to review updates to the law, review policies and procedures connected to the Clery Act, and gather initial data for the Annual Security Report (ASR) from the N.C. A&T PD and the Office of Student Conduct. The June meeting will be held to update various policies (e.g. Crime Reporting, Emergency and Non-emergency procedures, and Security of Facilities), identify programming efforts (e.g. Campus Crime Procedures, Crime Prevention, Drug and Alcohol-Abuse education), begin reviewing crime and disciplinary data to avoid duplication of the same incident, and review communication efforts with the Greensboro Police Department. The August meeting will be utilized to finalize the data elements for the ASR, make any final policy updates, and confirm revised procedures for distributing of the ASR.

Clery Act Compliance Committee Members

Name

Title

Phone

Email

Melody Pierce

VC for Student Affairs

336-334-7696

mcpierce@ncat.edu

Jermaine Cherry

AVC/Chief of Police

336-334-7128

jcherry@ncat.edu

Darrin Davis

Major of Operations

336-334-7128

djdavis8@ncat.edu

Vacant

Program Manager

336-334-7128

 

Marc Williams

AVC Students Affairs/Dean of Students

336-334-7592

marcwill@ncat.edu

Mindy Sanders

Director of Internal Auditing

336-334-7910

masanders1@ncat.edu

John Lowney

Director of Housing and Residence Life

336-285-4312

jlowney@ncat.edu

Travis Auman

Emergency Management Director

336-285-2405

trauman@ncat.edu

Veronica Sills

VC for Human Resources

336-285-3772

vlsills@ncat.edu

Vivian Barnette

Director of Counseling Services

336-334-7727

vdbarnet@ncat.edu

Breona Hayes

Title IX Coordinator

336-285-3769

bmhayes1@ncat.edu

Shawn Hendrix

Athletics

336-334-7686

sdhendri@ncat.edu

Sandra Brown

Director of University Communications

336-256-0863

smbrown@ncat.edu

Louisa Newman

Environmental Health and Safety

336-334-7032

lvthomas@ncat.edu

Tim Linker

AVC Research Administration

336-334-7086

tlinker@ncat.edu

Sabrina Scroggins Charge Nurse

336-334-7880

sabrinas@ncat.edu

Ashley Benefield

Clery Act Compliance Coordinator

336-334-7128

anbenefield@ncat.edu 

Godfrey Uzochukwu

Waste Management Institute

336-334-7030

uzo@ncat.edu

David Lennon

Director of Facilities Operations

336-285-4527

lennond@ncat.edu

Rashanda Lowery

Executive Director of Student Activities

336-285-2543

rllowery@ncat.edu

Linda Mangum

Director of Employees Relations

336-285-3769

lmangum@ncat.edu

Ronice Johnson-Guy

Director of International Affairs

336-334-7551

rljohnson@ncat.edu