Blue & Gold Marching Machine

As one of the premier bands in the nation, the Blue and Gold Marching Machine is synonymous with high stepping performances, precise drills, powerful, yet melodic sounds, and energy! As the premier band of North Carolina and ranking high among the top HBCU Marching Bands, the Blue & Gold Marching Machine of NC A&T State University is a force to be reckoned with!

Under the leadership of visionary, Dr. Kenneth Ruff, “The Blue and Gold Machine” brings crowds of fans to their feet year after year. The hard work of band members has lead to numerous recognitions such as winners of the Honda Battle of The Bands, the 2003 Defeat the Beat Champions, official band of the Carolina Panthers NFL franchise, the lead band for the 2012 Macy’s Thanksgiving Day Parade in New York City and a top 10 band as reported by Sports Illustrated.

The band performs at a variety of school and community functions and consists of approximately 200 members from very diverse majors and concentrations. The band is an auditioned group. The audition is open to all students of the university who wish to participate. The Marching Machine performs different genres of music and incorporates all styles of marching and maneuvering. The unit is a source of pride for the university and the community.

Join us this year as we travel to Houston Texas for the 2022 Pepsi National Battle of The Bands Presented by Toyota as the reining number one band in the country. Tickets are on sale now!

Visit    The 2022 National Battle of the Bands Website for your tickets today!

In the meantime, check out our performance from last year's National Battle of The Bands.

Contact the Marching Machine

Prospective members, please join the Blue & Gold Marching Machine today! Have you applied to the university yet? If not, visit admissions and find out how to apply today!  If you’d like to be placed in the recruitment database and receive more info about the Blue and Gold Marching Machine, text BGMMINFO to 41411 and fill out the requested information. For additional information, please contact us with the information provided below:

North Carolina A&T State University
Blue & Gold Marching Machine
1120 East Bessemer Avenue
Greensboro, NC 27411
Phone: (336) 334-7776 | Fax:  (336) 334-7311

Request a Blue & Gold Marching Machine Performance. Please email Dr. Ruff at

Request a Cold Steel Drumline Performance. Please email Dr. Lawhorn at


Congratulations to the class of 2022. We are proud of you!

Desmond Thompson 

Charlotte, NC 
Construction Management

James L. Thorpe III
Kennesaw, GA
Graphics Communication Systems

Brittany Kilgore
Greenville, SC
Psychology with a minor in Criminal Justice

Joshua Winston
Lexington, NC
Civil Engineering

Janae Moore
Upper Marlboro, MD
Biomedical engineering

Jarius Gamble
Winston-Salem, NC
Sport Science and Fitness Management

Joshua Willis
Columbia, SC
Computer Engineering/Electrical Engineering

Kevin Kindred Jr.
Atlanta, GA 
Music Education

Quaneshia Craig
Rock-Hill, SC
Sports Science & Fitness Management- PT

Jameel Ferrell
Danville, VA 
Music Education

Rory Aldridge
Jacksonville, NC
Journalism and Mass Communications

Jalen Butler
Chicago, IL
Civil Engineering

Ethan McKay
Detroit, MI
Computer Science

Terrius Bartley
Fayetteville, NC

Randolph Williams II
Fayetteville, NC

Cedarius Luckey
Winston-Salem, NC

Triston Johnson
Fayetteville, NC
Criminal Justice

Katriyon McKie
Florence, SC
Music Education

Joseph Cornelious
Houston, TX
Journalism and Mass Communication

CJ Williams
Bertie, NC
Information Technology

Jared Turner
Jonesboro, GA

Myles Nooks
Fayetteville, NC
Industrial and Systems Engineering

Brandon Bailey
Winston-Salem, NC
Business Management

Chris Paul
Greensboro, NC

Brandyn Bell
Fayetteville, NC
Marketing & Supply Chain Management

Asia Monette
Detroit, MI

Cameren Calhoun
Charlotte, NC
Architectural Engineering

Jakari Covington
Charlotte, NC
Automotive Engineering Technology

Jonathan Donnell
Greensboro, NC
Information Technology

Dominae Smith
Jacksonville, NC
Environmental Studies

Raymond Dickey Jr. 
Atlanta, GA

Tyler Franklin
Fayetteville, NC
Sports Science & Fitness Management

Wentrell Bing
Columbia, SC
Biology Premed

Kaylan Redd
Wallace, NC
Justice with a certificate in Forensic Science

Tamara Sheley
Fletcher, NC
Criminal Justice with a certificate in forensics

Loren Darcelle Anderson
Fayetteville, NC
Information Technology, Computer Systems with a Certificate in Network Defense

Natori Richardson
Fayetteville, NC
Business Administration

Danielle Foust
Greensboro, NC

Tiffany Mason
Newark, NJ