Institutional Effectiveness

Institutional Effectiveness is one of six key goals in the University's strategic plan for 2011-2020, and is the responsibility of the Office of Strategic Planning and Institutional Effectiveness (OSPIE), Office of Institutional Research, and the Institutional Effectiveness Council (IEC).

The Provost appoints members from each school/college and a cross-section of non-academic units to the Institutional Effectiveness Council, and appoints the vice provost for Strategic Planning and Institutional Effectiveness as the chair of IEC.

IEC Relationship Chart


Dr. Muktha Jost, Vice Provost, Office of Strategic Planning and Institutional Effectiveness (Chair)

College of Agriculture and Environmental Sciences
Dr. Chastity W. English, Agribusiness, Applied Economics, and Agriscience Education
Dr. Paula Faulkner, Agricultural Education
Dr. Jane Walker, Family and Consumer Sciences

Colleges of Arts, Humanities, and Social Sciences
Dr. Galen Foresman, History
Dr. Jason DePolo, English
Dr. Gregory Horton, Visual and Performing Arts
Dr. Sheila Whitley, Journalism

College of Health and Human Sciences
Dr. Arnold Barnes, Sociology and Social Work
Dr. George Robinson, Psychology
Smriti Shrestha, Nursing
Dr. Jerono Rotich, Human Performance and Leisure Studies

College of Business and Economics
Dr. Lisa Owens Jackson, Accounting and Finance
Dr. Lisa G. Snyder, Business Education

College of Education
Dr. Caroline Booth, Counseling
Dr. Alisa Taliaferro, Administration and Instructional Services

College of Engineering
Dr. Marwan Bikdash, Computational Science and Engineering
Dr. Tonya Smith Jackson, Industrial and Systems Engineering

College of Science and Technology
Dr. Vincent Childress, Graphic Design Technology
Ms. Peggy Fersner, Built Environment
Dr. Musibau Shofoluwe, Construction Management and Safety

Joint School of Nanoscience and Nanoengineering
Dr. Ram Mohan, Nanoengineering


Ms. Paige Amick, University Advancement
Ms. Sherri Avent, Financial Aid
Dr. Kim Chavis, Title III
Dr. Saundra Evans, Division of Research and Economic Development
Ms. Nina Exner, Library Service
Ms. Loreatha Graves, International Affairs
Ms. Sharon Hoard, Student Affairs
Dr. G. Scott Jenkins, Academic Affairs, Undergraduate Programs
Ms. Chartarra Joyner, Business and Finance
Dr. Tracie Lewis, Information Technology Services and Distance Education
Ms. Deborah Mayhand, Office of the Registrar
Ms. Bessie Nkonge, Information Technology Services
Ms. Cheryl Pollard-Barnes, Admissions, Undergraduate Admissions/Enrollment Management
Mr. Jeremicus Porter, Admissions, New Student Programs
Dr. Sanjiv Sarin, The Graduate School
Ms. Lisa Warren, Information Technology Services
Mr. Maurice Warren, Human Resources
Dr. Regina Williams, Student Success and Academic Support
Mr. Marc Williams, Student Affairs, Office of Dean of Students

Charge to the IEC

  • Provide oversight to address all SACS standards, Preeminence 2020 goals, and annual Strategic Priorities at the institutional level;
  • Develop an audit process for the University to monitor effectiveness of degree programs and administrative units and make recommendations for continuous improvement;
  • Propose clear and cohesive action items to address gaps in compliance with SACS standards and Preeminence 2020 goals at institutional and school/college/administrative unit level;
  • Provide oversight to address relevant SACS standards, Preeminence 2020 goals, and annual Strategic Priorities in the Council member's school/college/ administrative unit;
  • Provide oversight for the design of assessment plans in the institution's assessment software (Taskstream) in the Council member's school/college/ administrative unit;
  • Review mission statements, strategic plans, assessment findings, action plans, and status reports for the Council member's school/college/administrative unit, and make recommendations for continuous improvement; and
  • Make recommendations to the Provost, based on the analysis of assessment data to inform academic and administrative policymaking, practices, and budget decisions.