Meeting Minutes, Faculty Senate, full meeting, January 24, 2023

These minutes were reviewed and approved during the Faculty Senate meeting on Tuesday, March 28, 2023.

In attendance:

Faisal Alkaabneh (S); Jeffrey Alston (S); Phoebe Ajibade (A); Tonya Amankwatia; Uchenna Anele (S); Niroj Aryal (S); Bishnu Bastakoti (S); Jennifer Beasley (A); Stephen Bollinger (S); Kimberly Bunch-Crump (S); Zachary Denton (S); Nicole Dobbins; Sherrie Drye (A); Paula Faulkner; Marka Fleming (S); Yvonne Ford (S); Tiffany Fuller (S); Corey Graves (S); Scott Harrison (S); Nina Ingram; Geetika Jaiswal (S); Yahya Kamalipour (S); Stephanie Kelly; Cynthia Khanlarian (S); Lyubov Kurkalova (S); Harvey Long; Antoniette Maldonado-Devincci (A); Nicole McCoy; Kimberly McNeil (S); Ahmed Megri (S); Devang Mehta (S); Carmen Monico (S); Robert Newman; Emmanuel Obeng-Gyasi (S); Ventesh Pandey (A); Kristen Rhinehardt (S); Jacqueline Roebuck Sakho (S); David Schall (S); Amy Schwartzott (S); Belinda Shipps (S); Vijay Singh (S); Davi Thornton (S); Li-Shiang Tsay (A); Maylee Vazquez (A); Jeff Wolfgang (S); James Wood (S); Qing-An Zeng (S); Xueying Zhang (A)

(S): Senator

(A): Alternate

Meeting was called to order at 3:00 pm by the Faculty Senate Chair, Dr. Scott Harrison. Roll call was taken by Dr. Harrison and Dr. Fuller.

Review of minutes from the November 22, 2022 was deferred to a later meeting.

Dr. Nicole Dobbins provided a report from the Faculty Assembly. Delegate representation for this academic year consists of Dr. Scott Harrison, Dr. Nicole Dobbins, Dr. William Randle, and Dr. Kristen Rhinehardt. Alternates are Dr. Phoebe Ajibade and Dr. Nicole McCoy. The UNC System administration and Faculty Assembly are collaboratively seeking to establish 6 working groups: Post-Tenure Review, Professional Track Faculty, Retirement Program, Awards and Recognition, Evaluation of Teaching, and Workload Policy. The topic of a recently proposed compelled speech policy within the UNC System Board of Governors was then discussed regarding potential rationale underlying the proposed policy. Dr. Nicole Dobbins mentioned the upcoming Faculty Assembly meeting for UNC System institution Faculty Assembly delegates, which would be occuring on February 9 at the UNC School of the Arts. It was requested that faculty interested in service on these working groups communicate their interest with Dr. Harrison, Dr. Dobbins and Dr. Ford.

Committee reports were as follows. There is upcoming involvement of Dr. Kelly and Dr. McCoy on the university's adhoc University Academic Programs and Curriculum Committee. The report from the Nominating Committee by Dr. Ford was that the following names were being put forward for a Council of Research: Dr. Solomon Bililgn, Mr. Stephen Bollinger, Dr. Subrata Chakrabarty, Dr. Lyubova Kurkalova, Dr. Robert Newman, Dr. Kristen Rhinehardt and Dr. Amy Schwartzott. Representation from the Faculty Senate on other recently proposed university committees are Dr. Tiffany Fuller and Dr. William Randle (Faculty Handbook Revision Committee), and Dr. Scott Harrison, Professor Marka Fleming, and Dr. Ayanna Armstrong (Shared Governance). Dr. Redd indicated she would like to see non-tenure faculty as well as tenured faculty on the Shared Governance committee.

Meeting was adjourned with unanimous consent.