North Carolina A&T State University head coach Rod Broadway’s point that the Aggie football team had a good season despite coming short of winning their third straight Mid-Eastern Athletic Conference (MEAC) title will be furthered by the fact 14 of his players were named to one of the three MEAC’s all-conference teams on Nov. 28, 2016.

Two Aggies earned top superlatives with another one potentially on the way. Left tackle Brandon Parker was named offensive lineman of the year for the second straight season, while wide receiver Elijah Bell was named rookie of the year. The offensive and defensive players of the year will be announced on Dec. 6 at the National Football Foundation (NFF) awards press conference at the Empire Room at the Waldorf Astoria. The NFF and College Hall of Fame announced a partnership with the MEAC to reveal the league’s offensive and defensive players of the year as part of the festivities surrounding the 59th NFF Annual Awards Dinner in New York City.

Running back Tarik Cohen has a chance to make conference history at the Waldorf. If he wins offensive player of the year, he will be the first player in MEAC history to win the honor three consecutive years. Bell is the third Aggie to be named the conference’s top rookie in eight years joining Mike Mayhew (2009) and Cohen (2013).

Seven of the Aggies 14 all-conference players are first teamers. The Aggies first-team all-conference selections were Cohen, right tackle Wes Cole, tight end Leroy Hill, defensive end Angelo Keyes, Parker, defensive tackle Marquis Ragland and linebacker Jeremy Taylor.

Bell, return specialist Khris Gardin, wide receiver Denzel Keyes, center Darriel Mack, quarterback and Lamar Raynard were second teamers, while right guard Daquan Blake and placekicker Cody Jones made the third team.

The Aggies ranked first this season in total offense, rushing offense and third in passing offense.

Cohen ended his career on Saturday against Richmond with 5,619 rushing yards, the most in MEAC history.