The Department of Journalism and Mass Communication (JOMC) at North Carolina A&T State University

JOMC Retains National Accreditation

The Department of Journalism and Mass Communication (JOMC) at North Carolina A&T State University has been provisionally reaccredited by the Accrediting Council for Education in Journalism and Mass Communication (ACEJMC).  JOMC is one of three nationally accredited degree programs in the State of North Carolina.

In January 2016, a team of three communication and journalism experts visited the campus for two days to personally review and evaluate the department’s undergraduate program, based on its mission, governance and administration; curriculum and instruction; diversity and inclusiveness; full-time and part-time faculty; scholarship, research, creative and professional activity; student services; resources, facilities and equipment; professional and public service; and assessment of learning outcomes.

"Accreditation is a seal of quality approval.  We plan to work hard on enhancing our department, retaining accreditation, and becoming one of the best undergraduate degree programs in the nation over the next decade,” said Dr. Yahya Kamalipour, professor and chairman of the department.

In preparation for the visit, JOMC faculty and staff members collaboratively drafted a comprehensive 465-page self-study report, based on the above criteria, which was sent to ACEJMC and each member of the evaluation team. A copy of the report is available online.

In its final report, the ACEJMC found the department to be fully in compliance with seven of the nine standards, except standard number four (faculty), due to under-staffed faculty, and standard number nine (assessment), due to insufficient assessment data. The department is currently in the process of hiring three faculty members and one staff member for the 2016-17 academic year. Also, in preparation for achieving full-reaccreditation, the department is streamlining and refining its assessment methods and will be in compliance with all standards prior to the next accreditation site visit in spring 2018.