North Carolina A&T State University will accept nominations for the 2016 Human Rights Medal until Friday, Dec. 4.

The N.C. A&T Human Rights Medal that is awarded annually to recognize individuals who have endeavored to correct social injustice and have significantly contributed to the betterment of the world. The award is given in honor of the extraordinary action against social injustice on Feb. 1, 1960 by four N.C. A&T freshmen – Ezell Blair Jr. (Jibreel Khazan), Franklin Eugene McCain, Joseph Alfred McNeil and David Richmond Jr.

Candidates for the award may be locally, nationally or internationally recognized. The winner will be notified in December and will be invited to accept the award at the annual Sit-in Breakfast marking the anniversary of the N.C. A&T Sit-in Movement.

The event is scheduled for Monday, Feb. 1, 2016. The recipient must be able to accept the award in person at the Sit-In Breakfast on the campus of North Carolina A&T State University.
For information on how to nominate an individual, visit the Human Rights Medal website at or you may contact Vicki Coleman, committee chair and dean of library services, at or 336-285-4151.