Founders’ Day to Be Held Thursday March 19

North Carolina Agricultural and Technical State University will celebrate its annual Founders’ Day program on Thursday, March 19.

Dr. William B. DeLauder, president emeritus of Delaware State University, will deliver the keynote address. DeLauder is a former dean of the N.C. A&T College of Arts and Sciences. He also served as a professor and department chairman in chemistry.

DeLauder served as president at Delaware State for 17 years, retiring in 2003. He has served on the Board of International Food and Agriculture Development, the board of the American Farmland Trust and the executive committee of the Partnership to Cut Hunger and Poverty in Africa. He also has chaired the Commission of the Food Systems Leadership Institute, a program of the Association of Public and Land-Grant Universities.

Other speakers will include Chancellor Harold L. Martin; Nancy Vaughan, mayor of Greensboro; Patricia Miller Zollar, ’84, chair of the N.C. A&T Board of Trustees; Rosetta L. Clay, associate vice chancellor for alumni relations and executive director of the National Alumni Association; and Dorian Davis, president of the N.C. A&T Student Government Association.

Seven distinguished alumni will be presented with the Alumni Achievement Award for outstanding contributions to their professions, community and the university:

  • Sandra Hughes, ’69, College of Arts and Sciences;

  • Tyrone Jeffers, ’96, College of Engineering;

  • Daniel D. Godfrey, Sr., ’62, School of Agriculture and Environmental Sciences;

  • Mitchell A. Martin, ’75, School of Business and Economics;

  • Velma Speight-Buford, ’53, School of Education;

  • Golden H. Bethune-Hill, ’66, School of Nursing; and

  • Sonja Hines, ’92, School of Technology.