Dr. Linda Florence Callahan, professor in the department of journalism and mass communication, is this year’s recipient of the Association for Education in Journalism and Mass Communication (AEJMC) Robert. P. Knight Multicultural Recruitment Award.

The award is granted to individuals or organizations that have made significant contributions to promote diversity in high school or middle school media programs.

Through her annual regional workshop held at North Carolina A&T State University, High School Media Day, Callahan makes an impact on Greensboro, N.C. students.

She found the workshop in 1997 and partnered with the North Carolina Scholastic Media Association (NCSMA) to reach as many students as possible. Since its inception, High School Media Day has served as the blueprint for other NCSMA workshops.

“Linda’s workshop is a highlight each year,” said Monica Hill, director of NCSMA.

Hill nominated Callahan for the award.

“I was totally surprised when I received the package,” Callahan said. “I’m honored because I know that nationally, they’re only giving one award per year.”  

Sue Farlow, a retired high school journalism teacher, regularly attended the media day from 1997-2011.

“The workshops are well thought out and very engaging,” Farlow said. “She brings well known diverse media professionals to speak to the students, be on panels and present workshops.”

Callahan has been an active member of AEJMC and is a past member of the AEJMC board of directors.

Dr. David Bulla, president of AEJMC acknowledged Callahan for her commitment to promoting diversity in journalism.

“The scholastic journalism workshop she coordinates at A&T is an outstanding program,” he said. “Students from big schools and small schools, from urban, rural and suburban areas all come to the conference. She is a great ambassador of both journalism and a pluralistic, democratic society. She certainly deserves this award, and the state, city and university all should be proud of her accomplishment,” Bulla said.

Callahan will receive the award at the AEJMC convention in Washington, D.C., August 8-11.