The department of Journalism and Mass Communication at North Carolina A&T State University, has earned reaccreditation from one of the leading councils on journalism education.

The Accrediting Council on Education in Journalism and Mass Communication (ACEJMC), met April 27 – 28, in Arlington, Va., and voted unanimously, 21-0, that the undergraduate journalism program at A&T be removed from provisional reaccreditation and receive full reaccreditation.

A&T is one of three institutions in North Carolina – including Elon University and the UNC-Chapel Hill – recognized with an accredited journalism and mass communication program.  Additionally, in 2011, Diverse Issues in Higher Education magazine ranked A&T as the second highest university – following Howard University – as a top producer of African-American graduates in the journalism and mass communication field.

The Accrediting Council on Education in Journalism and Mass Communications accredits 113 programs in journalism and mass communications at colleges and universities in the United States, including one at a university outside the country.  The ACEJMC is dedicated to fostering and encouraging excellence and high standards in professional education in journalism and mass communication.

DeWayne Wickham is interim chair of the department of journalism and mass communication and director of the Institute for Advanced Journalism Studies.  Gail Wiggins is interim assistant chair.