Jeanne Clery Act Compliance Team

The Jeanne Clery Disclosure of Campus Security Policy and Campus Crime Statistics Act (20 USC § 1092(f)) is the landmark federal law, originally known as the Campus Security Act, that requires colleges and universities across the United States to disclose information about crime on and around their campuses. The law is tied to an institution's participation in federal student financial aid programs and it applies to most institutions of higher education both public and private. The Act is enforced by the United States Department of Education.

The University’s Clery Act Compliance Committee (CACC) is responsible for meeting all compliance and other requirements for the Jeanne Clery Disclosure of Campus Security Policy and Campus Crime Statistics Act (Clery Act). This committee, reports to the Vice Chancellor for Student Affairs and the Chief of the University Police Department. The CAAC provides the leadership to ensure full compliance in the areas of reporting, implementing policies and procedures, updating the annual reporting list, and providing educational programs.

The CACC shall meet a minimum of three times each year in February, June and August. The February meeting is designed to review updates to the law, review policies and procedures connected to the Clery Act, and gather initial data for the Annual Security Report (ASR) from the NCAT PD and the Office of Student Conduct. The June meeting will be held to update various policies (e.g. Crime Reporting, Emergency and Non-emergency procedures, and Security of Facilities), identify programming efforts (e.g. Campus Crime Procedures, Crime Prevention, Drug and Alcohol-Abuse education), begin reviewing crime and disciplinary data to avoid duplication of the same incident, and review communication efforts with the Greensboro Police Department. The August meeting will be utilized to finalize the data elements for the ASR, make any final policy updates, and confirm revised procedures for distributing of the ASR.

Clery Act Compliance Committee Members

Name Title Phone E-mail
Melody Pierce VC for Student Affairs 336.334.7696
Charles Wilson AVC/Chief of Police 336.334.7128

Jermaine Cherry Major of Operations 336.334.7128
Rokesha Bowser Program Manager 336.334.7128
Marc Williams AVC Students Affairs/Dean of Students 336.334.7592
Angela Ealey Internal Auditing 336.334.7910
Linda Inman Director of Housing and Residence Life 336.334.7696
Travis Auman Emergency Management Coordinator 336.285.2405

Ericka Smith VC for Human Resources 336.334.7862
Vivian Barnette Director of Counseling Services 336.334.7727
Linda Mangum Director of Employee Relations/Title IX Coordinator 336.285.3769
Earl Hilton Athletic Director 336.334.7686
Sandra Brown Director of University Communications 336.256.0863
Louisa Newman Environmental Health and Safety 336.334.7032

Mitz Bond AVC Research Economic Development 336.334.7086
RaShonda Lowery Legal Specialist 336.334.7592

Lavacia Jeter Charge Nurse 336.334.7880

Adenike Heyliger Clery Act Compliance Coordinator 336-334.7128

Godfrey Uzochukwu Waste Management Institute 336-334-7030

Loretha Graves International Student and Scholars 336-334-7551