Center for Advanced Transportation Mobility

The Center for Advanced Transportation Mobility (CATM) was established in 2016 through the University Transportation Center Program under the Fixing America’s Surface Transportation (FAST) Act.  CATM is a consortium consisting of three higher education institutions: North Carolina Agricultural and Technical State University (lead), Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University, and Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University – Daytona Beach. These three institutions collaborate on projects focused on identifying solutions to mobility concerns within two primary thematic areas: 1) Enabling safe and efficient mobility for vulnerable road users and 2) Optimizing mobility in emergency situations. 

CATM is uniquely qualified to address the future needs of the transportation industry.  By combining the strengths of four institutions with diverse characteristics, the Center is able to address the transportation needs of an extremely broad spectrum of the U.S. population, thereby helping the nation maintain its competitive advantage in the global economy.