Social Work and Sociology Faculty

Chairperson &

Director of the Bachelor of Social Work Program

 Dr. Barnes_Photo

Department of Social Work and Sociology

Chairperson, Associate Professor of Social Work

Name: Dr. Arnold Barnes

Office:  Gibbs Hall 201 Office A

Email: abarnes@ncat.edu

Phone: 336-285-2296

 Research & Teaching Interests

 

 

Director of the Bachelor of Sociology Program

Tobin Walton

Department of Social Work and Sociology

Assistant Professor of Sociology

Name: Dr. Tobin N. Walton
Office: Gibbs Hall 206E
Email: tnwalton@ncat.edu
Phone: 336-285-2292
Research & Teaching Interests

Director Joint Master of Social Work Program (JMSW)

Department of Social Work and Sociology

Director Joint Master of Social Work Program (JMSW), Professor of Social Work

Name: Dr. Jeffrey K. Shears
Office: Gibbs Hall 236
Email: jkshears@ncat.edu
Phone: 336-285-2531
Research & Teaching Interests

Faculty

Dr. An

Department of Social Work and Sociology

Assistant Professor of Social Work

Name: Dr. Soonok An
Office: Gibbs Hall 112A
Email: san@ncat.edu
Phone: 336-285-2049
Research & Teaching Interests
Dr. Carey

Department of Social Work and Sociology

Associate Professor of Sociology

Name: Dr. Phillip Carey
Office: Gibbs Hall 206G
Email: careyp@ncat.edu
Phone: 336-285-2295
Research & Teaching Interests

Dr. Hessmiller

Department of Social Work and Sociology

Associate Professor of Social Work

Name: Dr. Joanne Hessmiller
Office: Gibbs Hall 112B
Email: jmhessmiller@ncat.edu
Phone: 336-285-2246
Research & Teaching Interests
Photo Dr. Wade

Department of Social Work and Sociology

Assistant Professor of Sociology

Name: Dr. Jeannette Wade
Office: Gibbs Hall 206D
Email: jmwade1@ncat.edu
Phone: 336-285-2302
Poto

Department of Social Work & Sociology

Assistant Professor of Sociology

Name: Dr. Stephanie Teixeira-Poit
Office: Gibbs Hall 206F
Email: steixeirapoit@ncat.edu
Phone: 336-285-2125
Dr. Parker Photo

Department of Social Work & Sociology

Associate Professor of Social Work

Name: Dr. Sharon Parker
Office: Gibbs Hall 102C
Email: sdparke3@ncat.edu
Phone: 336-285-2297
Research & Teaching Interests

Department of Social Work and Sociology

Director of BSW Field Education

Name: Dr. Elizabeth Watson
Office: Gibbs Hall 114-A
Email: edwatson@ncat.edu
Phone: 336-285-2306
Research & Teaching Interests

Department of Social Work and Sociology

Assistant Professor of Social Work

Name: Dr. Chiquita L. Welch-Brewer
Office: Gibbs Hall 112-C
Email: clwelchb@ncat.edu
Phone: 336-285-2299
Research & Teaching Interests
Dr. Baffour

Department of Social Work and Sociology

Teaching Associate Professor

Name: Dr. Tiffany Baffour
Office: Gibbs Hall 233
Email: tdbaffour@ncat.edu
Phone: 336-285-2303
Research & Teaching Interests
Dr. Bean

Department of Social Work and Sociology

Lecturer

Name: Dr. Anderson Bean
Office: Gibbs Hall 206C
Email: ambean@ncat.edu
Phone: 336-285-2294
Research & Teaching Interests

Department of Social Work and Sociology

Lecturer

Name: Vannessa Gharbi
Office: Gibbs Hall 231
Email: vcgharbi@ncat.edu
Phone: 336-285-2308
Research & Teaching Interests

Administrative Specialists

 Ms. McClinton

Department of Social Work and Sociology

Administrative Assistant

Name:  Madelyn McClinton

Office:  Gibbs Hall, Room 206

Email: mdcclin@ncat.edu

Phone: 336-285-2015

 Fax: 336-334-7197

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

ConnieMiller

Department of Social Work and Sociology

Administrative Support Associate

Name: Connie M. Miller
Office: Gibbs Hall, Room 201
Email: cmmiller1@ncat.edu
Phone: 336-285-2049
Fax: 336-256-0350

To continue to learn more about our department click here