College of Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences

Journalism & Mass Communication Staff Directory

Professors in the Department of Journalism and Mass Communication have backgrounds in its three concentrations – Mass Media Production, Multimedia Journalism and Public Relations. Faculty teach courses, advise individual students, advise student organizations, provide service to the department and the university, and use their expertise in service to their professional and general communities. Our faculty also organize special events that enhance the knowledge and skills students learn in their courses, as well as in courses offered at other institutions. In addition, faculty prepare journalism and mass communication productions that they share with the public via radio stations, TV stations, websites, newspapers, magazines, and other media outlets. They conduct research, and disseminate the knowledge and insights from that research through conferences, articles, books, monographs, websites, and other means.

Department Administration

Gail Wiggins, Assistant Professor (Interim Chair)
B.A., M.S., North Carolina A&T State University
Email: gwiggins@ncat.edu
Office: Crosby 221
Telephone: 336-285-3437

Faculty

Linda Florence Callahan

Linda Florence Callahan, Professor
Ph.D., M.A., Ohio State University
B.A., University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill 
Email: lindac@ncat.edu
Office: 223 Crosby
Telephone: 336-285-3442
Brief Bio

Emily Burch Harris

Emily Burch Harris, Lecturer
B.A., M.A., Marshall University
Email: edburch@ncat.edu
Office: GCB A388E
Telephone: 336-285-3449
Brief Bio

Yahya R. Kamalipour

Yahya R. Kamalipour, Professor
Ph.D., University of Missouri-Columbia
M.A., University of Wisconsin - Superior
B.A., Minnesota State University
Email: ykamalip@ncat.edu
Office: Crosby 221
Telephone: 336-285-3439
Brief Bio

Arthea B. Perry

Arthea B. Perry, Lecturer
M.F.A., Savannah College of Art and Design
B.A., Winston Salem State University
Email:abperry@ncat.edu
Office: Crosby Hall 123
Telephone: 336-285-3434
Brief Bio

kimsmith2.jpg

Kim Smith, Associate Professor
M.M.C., Ph.D., University of South Carolina
B.A., Howard Universiy
Email: kcsmith1@ncat.edu
Office: Crosby 119
Telephone: 336-285-3430
Brief Bio

Anthony Welborne

Anthony Welborne, Instructor and General Manager, WNAA-FM
B.S., M.S., North Carolina A&T State University
Email: tonyb@ncat.edu
Office: Crosby 302
Telephone: 336-285-2474
Brief Bio

Sheila M. Whitley

Sheila M. Whitley, Associate Professor 
Ph.D., University of North Carolina at Greensboro
M.A., Appalachian State University;
B.A., University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
A.A., Wingate University
Email: whitley@ncat.edu
Office: Crosby Hall 319
Telephone: 336-285-3448
Brief Bio

Adjunct Facuty

Michael Carter

Michael Carter, Adjunct Lecturer
Email: mhcarter@ncat.edu
Office: Crosby 318
Phone: 336-334-7900
Brief Bio

 Allen Johnson

Allen Johnson, Adjunct Lecturer
Email: ajohnson@ncat.edu
Office: 122 Crosby
Telephone: 336-334-7900
Brief Bio

Joseph Jowers

Joseph Jowers, Adjunct Lecturer
Email: jbjowers@ncat.edu
Office: 317 Crosby
Telephone: 336-285-3446
Brief Bio

Doctor Kevin Keenan

Dr. Kevin Keenan, Adjunct Lecturer
Email: klkeenan@ncat.edu
Office: Crosby 222
Telephone: 336-285-3433
Brief Bio

Tira Murray

Tira Murray, Adjunct Lecturer
Email: tjmurray1@ncat.edu
Office: Crosby 121
Telephone: 336-285-3431
Brief Bio

Philip Page

Philip Page, Adjunct Lecturer
Email: prpage@ncat.edu
Office: Crosby 220
Telephone: 336-334-7900
Brief Bio

David Squires

David Squires, Adjunct Lecturer
Email: drsquire@ncat.edu
Office: Crosby 124
Telephone: 336-334-7900
Brief Bio

Gary Guffey, Adjunct Lecturer
Email: gcguffey@ncat.edu
Office: Crosby 219
Telephone: 336-334-7900
Brief Bio

 

 

Department Staff

Kiticia Kaye Hayes

Kiticia (Kaye) Hayes, Administrative Support Associate, JOMC Dept.
Email: kkhayes@ncat.edu
Office: Crosby Hall 220
Telephone: 336-334-7900

Edwin Moye

Edwin Moye, Multimedia Coordinator, (Interim TV Studio Manager)
Email: eemoye@ncat.edu
Office: Crosby 313
Telephone: 336-285-3438

 TV Studio Staff

 

Caroline Jones

Caroline Jones, Administrative Support Specialist, TV Studio
Email: cjones15@ncat.edu
Office: Crosby 324
Telephone: 336-285-2099

WNAA Radio Staff

 

Ezinma Murphy

Ezinma Murphy, Administrative Support Associate, WNAA Radio 
Email: eleakmur@ncat.edu
Office: Crosby 302
Telephone: 336-285-2472