8 a.m.

Registration opens

8:30 a.m.

Continental breakfast

9 a.m.

Poster exhibits and judging

10:30 a.m.

Opening remarks

Robin Coger, Dean, College of Engineering, N.C. A&T

Ward Lenz, Director, North Carolina Energy Office



Barry Burks, Vice Chancellor for Research and Economic Development, N.C. A&T

Session 1: Energy

10:45 a.m.

Steven Burke

President and CEO, Biofuels Center of North Carolina

11:05 a.m.

Keynote speaker

Dana C. Christensen

Deputy Laboratory Director for Science and Technology, National Renewable Energy Laboratory

11:35 a.m.

Johnny Green

Director, Energy and Transportation Division, Oak Ridge National Laboratory

11:55 a.m.


12:30 p.m.

Frank Holcomb

Engineer Research and Development Center, Construction Engineering Research Laboratory, U.S. Army Corps of Engineers

12:50 p.m.

Energy panel discussion

Moderator: Abolghasem Shahbazi, Professor, N.C. A&T

Session 2: Water

1:10 p.m.

Elisabeth Jenicek


1:30 p.m.

Sushama Pradha

N.C. State University

1:50 p.m.

Manuel Reyes

N.C. A&T

2:10 p.m.

Water panel discussion

Moderator: Stephanie Luster-Teasley, N.C. A&T

Session 3: Waste

2:30 p.m.

Barry Edwards

Director, Utilities and Engineering, Catawba County Eco-Complex

2:50 p.m.

Van Morrison

Reventure Park, Charlotte, Forsite Development Inc.

3:10 p.m.

Godfrey Uzochukwu

Director, Waste Management Institute, N.C. A&T

3:30 p.m.

Waste panel discussion

Moderator: Dr. Uzochukwu

3:50 p.m.

Closing remarks

Dr. Burks

Harmohindar Singh, Director, Center for Energy Research and Technology, N.C. A&T

4 p.m.


Poster exhibits


Weaver Room
5 p.m.


Dr. Burks

Dr. Singh

5:10 p.m.

Dennis Quaintance

CEO and Chief Design Officer, Quaintance-Weaver Restaurants & Hotels

5:20 p.m.

Maryann Ibeziako

Energy Manager, N.C. A&T

5:40 p.m.

N.C. energy centers overview

N.C. A&T, Ray Tesiero

N.C. State University, Steve Kalland

Appalachian State University

6:25 p.m.

Poster awards presentation