Learning Management System Evaluation Study

NC A&T has used Blackboard Learn (Bb) as its Learning Management System (LMS) for a number of years. Blackboard Learn has served the needs of faculty for distance learning & for other technology-assisted learning & academic support.  Other large campuses, including UNC campuses, have undertaken detailed studies or pilots of alternative LMS's.

In September 2015, charge was given to the Learning Management System Evaluation Committee with carrying out such a study here at NC A&T, with the goal of determining which solution best meets faculty and student current needs & what the University can cost-effectively support.

The study is being led by Dr. Karen Hornsby, Associate Professor of Philosophy, with Dr. Nicholas Luke, Associate Professor of Mathematics.  Information Technology Systems (ITS) also will evaluate the impact of potential LMS decisions on any other Blackboard, Inc. related products or other university applications being used at NC A&T.

Learning Management System Evaluation Committee

Name

Area

Email

Ben McFadyen

Instructional Designer

abmcfady@ncat.edu

Bessie Nkonge

Blackboard Liaison

bessien@ncat.edu

Dwedor W. Ford

Human Performance

dwford1@ncat.edu

Ioney James

Curriculum Instruction

ijames@ncat.edu

Jinsheng Xu

Engineering

jxu@ncat.edu

John Teleha

Library Services

teleha@ncat.edu

Jorge Gaytan

Business Education/IT

jagaytan@ncat.edu

Jose Bravo-de-Rueda

Liberal Studies

bravoj@ncat.edu

Karen Hornsby

Philosophy/Chairperson

kLhornsb@ncat.edu

Nanette DeBerry

Distance Education

nmdeberr@ncat.edu

Nick Luke

Mathematics/Chairperson

luke@ncat.edu

Peggy Fersner

Technology

fersner@ncat.edu

Robin Liles

Human Development

rgliles@ncat.edu

Tracie Lewis

Director, ITSDE

tolewis@ncat.edu

Tiffany Morris

Nursing

tdmorris@ncat.edu

Jane Walker

Agriculture

walkerj@ncat.edu

 

Committee Meeting Agendas

Sept. 2015

Oct 2015 

Proposed LMS Timeline  

Guiding Question: What learning management system will best meet the needs of our campus community? (Finances are not part of this consideration)  LMS Evaluation Tool

September 2015

  • Initial Meeting
  • Subcommittees Formed:  
    • Qualtrics faculty survey questions (what do you want/use in an LMS) 
    • LMS committee initial evaluation tool
    • Student evaluation tool (mobile usage)

October 2015

  • LMS Presentations to Committee
  • Sandboxes established with designated point persons
  • Faculty Senate presentation
  • Call for spring 2016 faculty beta-testers

November 2015

  • Meeting with UNCG IT folks; relevant A&T IT folks invited
  • Meeting with Dr. McGraw (who decides what is enabled)
  • Training of beta-testers

December 2015

  • Preparation for spring testing  

February 2016

  • Refine focus of campus presentations based on Qualtrics survey results
  • Campus presentations by LMS companies
  • Evaluations distributed at presentations  

March 2016

  • Student feedback in beta courses assessed
  • Instructor feedback in beta courses assessed
  • Committee decision  

April 2016

  • Recommendation report to Provost’s Office with implementation timeline suggestions 

Vendor Presentations

Vendor presentations for the selected Learning Management System's were held. Recordings of the presentations are linked below.
As more information about the LMS study becomes available, it will be posted on this website whenever possible.