Threat Assessment Team

The University's Threat Assessment Team was established by the Chancellor to assist in addressing situations where students, faculty or staff are displaying disruptive or threatening behaviors that potentially endanger and their own or others' health and safety.  This Committee is also responsible for coordinating a collaborative, multidisciplinary assessment and response approach to critical campus incidents, which are defined as incidents which are fraught with danger or risk, perilous; forming the nature of a crisis, critical; and may include but not be limited to:

  • Harm to self
  • Harm to others
  • Diminished ability to care for self
  • Significant disruption to the learning or working environment

It is the responsibility of the faculty, staff, and students to immediately report any situation that could possibly result in harm to anyone at the University.  Any member of the campus community may become aware of a troubling person or situation that is causing serious anxiety, stress, or fear.  If so, in cases where a person may pose an immediate risk of violence to their self or others, the University Police Department should be contacted immediately at (336) 334-7675.

The 2012-2013 University Threat Assessment Committee has been charged by the Chancellor with the following responsibilities:

  • Establish a protocol for identifying and responding to students who potentially pose a threat to themselves or others;
  • Develop a comprehensive program to educate faculty, staff and students about how to best recognize signs and know indicators of violence, suicide and mental illness; and collaborate with institutional resources available to assist with these situations;
  • Educate community members on issues related to privacy of educational and medical / physiological records, including clarification of policies related to FERPA, HIPAA and state laws; and
  • Develop a policy for involuntary withdrawal of students, who demonstrate through their behavior that they potentially pose a threat to themselves or others, but who may not have otherwise violated the campus Code of Conduct.

Threat Assessment Committee Members

Name  Title  Phone  E-Mail 
Melody Pierce (Chair)  VC for Student Affairs  336.334.7696  mcpierce@ncat.edu 
Vivian Barnette Director of Counseling Services 336.334.7727 vdbarnet@ncat.edu
T. Linc Butler AVC for Human Resources 336.285.3770 tlbutler@ncat.edu
Linda Inman Director of Housing and Residence Life  336.334.7696 ldinman@ncat.edu
Glenn Newell AVC for Police and Public Safety  336.334.7128 gcnewell@ncat.edu
Peggy Oliphant Director of Veterans and Disability Support Services 336.334.7765 oliphant@ncat.edu
Judy Rashid AVC for Student Affairs 336.334.7791 jrashid@ncat.edu
Patricia Shelton Assistant Dean for the School of Education 336.334.7752 patricia@ncat.edu
Louisa Thomas Environment Health and Safety Manager 336.334.7032 lvthomas@ncat.edu
Godfrey Uzochukwu Director of the Waste Management Institute 336.334.7030 uzo@ncat.edu
Kimberly Sowell AVC for Student Affairs 336.334.7708 sowellk@ncat.edu
Marc Williams Deputy General Counsel of Legal Affairs 336.334.7592 marcwill@ncat.edu
Linda Wilson Director of Sebastian Health Center 336.334.7880 wilsonl@ncat.edu
Phyllis Ford-Booker Associate Professor of Psychology 336.285.2269 bookerp@ncat.edu
Timothy Johnson Emergency Management Coordinator 336.334.7128 tjohnson@ncat.edu
Cindy Poole Deputy Chief of Police 336.334.7128 cpoole@ncat.edu

Policy Information

Threat Assessment Resources