Jeanne Clery Act Compliance Team

The Jeanne Clery Disclosure of Campus Security Policy and Campus Crime Statistics Act (20 USC § 1092(f)) is the landmark federal law, originally known as the Campus Security Act, that requires colleges and universities across the United States to disclose information about crime on and around their campuses. The law is tied to an institution's participation in federal student financial aid programs and it applies to most institutions of higher education both public and private. The Act is enforced by the United States Department of Education.

The University’s Clery Act Compliance Committee (CACC) is responsible for meeting all compliance and other requirements for the Jeanne Clery Disclosure of Campus Security Policy and Campus Crime Statistics Act (Clery Act). This committee, reports to the Vice Chancellor for Student Affairs and the Chief of the University Police Department. The CAAC provides the leadership to ensure full compliance in the areas of reporting, implementing policies and procedures, updating the annual reporting list, and providing educational programs.

The CACC shall meet a minimum of three times each year in February, June and August. The February meeting is designed to review updates to the law, review policies and procedures connected to the Clery Act, and gather initial data for the Annual Security Report (ASR) from the NCAT PD and the Office of Student Conduct. The June meeting will be held to update various policies (e.g. Crime Reporting, Emergency and Non-emergency procedures, and Security of Facilities), identify programming efforts (e.g. Campus Crime Procedures, Crime Prevention, Drug and Alcohol-Abuse education), begin reviewing crime and disciplinary data to avoid duplication of the same incident, and review communication efforts with the Greensboro Police Department. The August meeting will be utilized to finalize the data elements for the ASR, make any final policy updates, and confirm revised procedures for distributing of the ASR.

Clery Act Compliance Committee Members

Name Title Phone E-mail
Melody Pierce AVC for Student Affairs 336.334.7696 mcpierce@ncat.edu
Glenn Newell AVC for Police and Public Safety 336.334.7128 gcnewell@ncat.edu
Shannon McPhail Patrol Sergeant 336.334.7128 spmcphai@ncat.edu
Rokesha Bowser Patrol Officer 336.285.2421 rmbowser@ncat.edu
Marc Williams Deputy General Counsel 336.334.7592 marcwill@ncat.edu
Larry Kreiser Director of Internal Auditing 336.334.7910 lkreiser@ncat.edu
Donna Blue Director of Judicial Affairs 336.334.7791 dbblue@ncat.edu
Morolake Laosebikan-Buggs Executive Director of Student Activities 336.285.4930 lbuggs@ncat.edu
Linda Wilson Director of Student Health Services 336.334.7880 wilsonl@ncat.edu
Linda Inman Director of Residence Life 336.334.7696 ldinman@ncat.edu
Timothy Johnson Emergency Management Coordinator 336.285.2405 tjohnson@ncat.edu
T. Linc Butler AVC Division of Human Resources 336.334.7862 tlbutler@ncat.edu
Keyana Scales Director of Admission 336.334.7946 kscales@ncat.edu
Vivian Barnette Director of Counseling Center 336.334.7727 vdbarnet@ncat.edu
Sylvia Anderson Director of Employee Relations 336.334.7862 scanders@ncat.edu
Katreshia Louis-Verrett Associate Athletic Director 336.334.7007 kalouisv@ncat.edu
Ruth Phillips Wellness Promotion Coordinator 336.285.2926 rghilli@ncat.edu