Student Tuition and Fees
Tuition and Fees
Tuition rates are reviewed by the University's Board of Trustees and the Board of Governors of the University of North Carolina System and set annually by the North Carolina legislature. Fees are reviewed and approved by the University's Board of Trustees with final approval pending the Board of Governors of the University of North Carolina System review. View detailed tuition rates below.
Full Time Status
Tuition and Fee charges are billed each semester. Twelve or more credit hours are considered full-time for undergraduate students and nine or more credit hours are considered full-time for graduate students.
Some undergraduate and graduate classes are assessed special course fees. Listed below are the differential costs for tuition that are added for courses within particular programs:
|Program||Additional Tuition Cost||Assessment Rate|
|Master's of Business Administration (On Campus)||$225.00||1-2 credit hours|
|$450.00||3-5 credit hours|
|$675.00||6-7 credit hours|
|$675.00||8 credit hours|
|$900.00||9+ credit hours|
|Master's of Business Administration (Distance Learning)||$88.00||per credit hour|
|Joint Master's Social Work & Joint School of Nanoscience and Nanoengineering (On Campus) In-State||$71.50||1-2 credit hours|
|$143.00||3-5 credit hours|
|$214.50||6-7 credit hours|
|$214.50||8 credit hours|
|$286.00||9+ credit hours|
|Joint Master's Social Work & Joint School of Nanoscience and Nanoengineering (On Campus) Out-of-State||$202.00||1-2 credit hours|
|$404.00||3-5 credit hours|
|$606.00||6-7 credit hours|
|$606.00||8 credit hours|
|$808.00||9+ credit hours|
|Joint Master's Social Work (Distance Learning) In-State||$28.00||per credit hour|
|Joint Master's Social Work (Distance Learning) Out-of-State||$79.00||per credit hour|
Distance Learning/Online Courses
Please note that students will receive one combined billing statement for main campus and/or distance learning courses. Distance Learning (DL) courses are billed in addition to main campus charges.
Effective with Fall 2014, students who are enrolled in 12 or more credit hours (undergraduate) or 9 or more credit hours (graduate) with the main campus, and are in one or more credit hours of Distance Learning courses, will NOT be billed for the Distance Learning courses.
This benefit is only allotted to students who are attempting either 12 or more hours of on campus undergraduate-level courses or 9 hours or more of graduate-level on campus courses. See the chart below for more information about the impact of Distance Learning courses on a billing statement:
|On Campus Credit Hours||Distance Learning Credit Hours||Assessed Charges on Bill|
|1-11 undergraduate hours||1 or more undergraduate hours||Costs of on-campus classes + cost of distance learning classes|
|12 or more undergraduate hours||1 or more undergraduate hours||Cost of 12 hours of on-campus classes only|
|1-8 graduate hours||1 or more graduate hours||Cost of on-campus classes + cost of distance learning classes|
|9 or more graduate hours||1 or more graduate hours||Cost of 9 hours of on-campus classes only|
A tuition surcharge is applied to an account when a student has attempted or exceeded 140 credit hours toward their undergraduate degree. If further assistance is needed pertaining to the tuition surcharge, contact the Registrar's Office for more details.
North Carolina A&T State University provides billing statements electronically through its Online Payments system. Students and Authorized Users will receive an email notification each time that a new billing statement (E-Bill) is available. Payments must be submitted by the scheduled due date to avoid cancellation of classes.
Refund Schedule - Fall 2016
- Full Time Students - August 23, 2016
- Part Time Students - September 9, 2016
- First Time Borrowers - September 23, 2016
*The above dates are dependent on all funds being applied to the student account 5 business days prior to the refund date*