Biology Department Faculty

[Directory of Faculty] [Areas of Research] [Recent Publications]

Directory of Faculty

Bernot, Kelsie - 209 Barnes Hall - kmbernot@ncat.edu - 336-285-2169
Byfield, Grace - G4 Barnes Hall - gebyfiel@ncat.edu - 336-285-2209
Byrd, Goldie - 2105 Yanceyville Street, Center for Outreach in Alzheimer's Aging and Community Health - gsbyrd@ncat.edu - 336-285-2165
Coomans, Roy - 104 and 223 Barnes Hall - coomansr@ncat.edu - 336-285-2166
Goins, Gregory - G8 Barnes Hall - gdgoins@ncat.edu - 336-285-2191
Goliszek, Andrew - G21 Barnes Hall - goliszek@ncat.edu - 336-285-2184
Han, Jian - 206 Barnes Hall - jhan@ncat.edu - 336-285-4456
Harrison, Scott - 304 Hines Hall - scotth@ncat.edu - 336-285-2179
Jeffers-Francis, Liesl - 306B Hines Hall - ljeffers@ncat.edu - 336-285-2506
Kelkar, Vinaya - 213 Barnes Hall - vakelkar@ncat.edu - 336-285-2183
Kloth, Alexander - G4 Barnes Hall - akloth@ncat.edu - 336-285-2160
Mack, Perry - 211 Barnes Hall - pmack@ncat.edu - 336-285-2181
Martin, Patrick - 300B Hines Hall - pmmartin@ncat.edu - 336-285-2168
Muganda, Perpetua - 317 Hines Hall - pmmugand@ncat.edu - 336-285-2190
Newman, Rob - 105 Barnes Hall - rhnewman@ncat.edu - 336-285-2189
Ongeri, Elimelda - 215 Barnes Hall - eongeri@ncat.edu - 336-285-2182
Petty, Cailisha - 26 Barnes Hall - mrspetty@ncat.edu - 336-285-2174
Rorie, Checo - 300A Hines Hall - cjrorie@ncat.edu - 336-285-2188
Smith, Adreinne - G4 Barnes Hall - adsmit11@ncat.edu - 336-285-2167
Smith, Mary - 102 Barnes Hall - smithma@ncat.edu - 336-285-2199
Smith, Simone - G19 Barnes Hall - smsmith8@ncat.edu - 336-285-2207
Smith-Pearson, Pameeka - G11 Barnes Hall - pssmithp@ncat.edu - 336-285-4462
Thomas, Misty - G11 Barnes Hall - mthomas1@ncat.edu - 336-285-2178
White, Angela - 103 Barnes Hall - amwhite@ncat.edu - 336-285-2356
White, Catherine - G24 Barnes Hall - cdwhite@ncat.edu - 336-285-2192

Areas of Research


Dr. Mary Smith, Professor and Chairperson
Bioinformatics Analysis of Nuclear Hormone Receptors; Genomics Educational Research and Gene Annotation
Office: 102 Barnes Hall; E-mail: smithma@ncat.edu; Telephone: 336-285-2160


Dr. Goldie Byrd, Nathan F. Simms Endowed Professor
Director, Center for Outreach in Alzheimer's Aging and Community Health
Genetic Susceptibility of Alzheimer's Disease in African Americans
Office: 2105 Yanceyville Street, Center for Outreach in Alzheimer's Aging and Community Health; E-mail: gsbyrd@ncat.edu; Telephone: 336-285-2165


Dr. Roy Coomans, Associate Professor and Associate Chairperson
Taxonomy and Distribution of Freshwater Red Algae, Demographics of Rare Plant Populations
Office: 223 Barnes Hall; E-mail: coomansr@ncat.edu; Telephone: 336-285-2166


Dr. Kelsie Bernot, Assistant Professor
Civic Engagement through Service Learning and Discipline-Based Education Research
Office: 209 Barnes Hall; E-mail: kmbernot@ncat.edu; Telephone: 336-285-2169


Dr. Gregory Goins, Associate Professor
Ecophysicology and Photosynthetic Electron Transport; Science Education
Office: 8 Barnes Hall; E-mail: gdgoins@ncat.edu; Telephone: 336-285-2191


Dr. Andrew Goliszek, Associate Professor
Stress Physiology
Office: 21 Barnes Hall; E-mail: goliszek@ncat.edu; Telephone: 336-285-2184


Dr. Jessica Han, Associate Professor
Complex Disease and Nutrition
Office: 206 Barnes Hall; E-mail: jhan@ncat.edu; Telephone: 336-285-4456


Dr. Scott H. Harrison, Assistant Professor
Computational Biology and Microbiology
Office: 13 Barnes Hall; E-mail: scotth@ncat.edu; Telephone: 336-285-2179


Dr. Liesl Jeffers-Francis, Assistant Professor
Virology and Immunology
Office: 306B Hines Hall; E-mail: ljeffers@ncat.edu; Telephone: 336-285-2506


Dr. Vinaya Kelkar, Assistant Professor
Statistical Design, Modeling, and Analysis of Experimental and Observational Data; Statistical Analysis of Gene Expression in Microarray Technology; Educational Research Methods
Office: 213 Barnes Hall; E-mail: vakelkar@ncat.edu; Telephone: 336-285-2183


Dr. Patrick Martin, Associate Professor
Molecular Biology of Brain Tumors, Breast Cancers and Natural Products Research
Office: 300B Hines Hall; E-mail: pmmartin@ncat.edu; Telephone: 336-285-2168


Dr. Perpetua Muganda, Professor
Molecular Carcinogenesis, Apoptosis and Cell Signaling
Office: 317 Hines Hall; E-mail: pmmugand@ncat.edu; Telephone: 336-285-2190


Dr. Robert Newman, Assistant Professor
Toxicology, Phosphorylation-dependent Signaling, Fluorescent Biosensor Development, and Live Cell Imaging
Office: 105 Barnes Hall; E-mail: rhnewman@ncat.edu; Telephone: 336-285-2189


Dr. Elimelda Ongeri, Associate Professor
The Role of Meprins in Acute and Chronic Kidney Failure
Office: 215 Barnes Hall; E-mail: eongeri@ncat.edu; Telephone: 336-285-2182


Dr. Cailisha L. Petty, Teacher Education Coordinator
African American Student Engagement in Science Education
Office: 26 Barnes Hall; E-mail: mrspetty@ncat.edu; Telephone: 336-285-2174


Dr. Checo Rorie, Associate Professor
Cancer Biology, Molecular Biology
Office: 300A Barnes Hall; E-mail: cjrorie@ncat.edu; Telephone: 336-285-2188


Dr. Simone Smith, Assistant Professor
Enhancing wound healing and tissue regeneration in connective tissue (skin and tendon)
Office: 19 Barnes Hall; E-mail: smsmith8@ncat.edu; Telephone: 336-285-2207


Dr. Misty Thomas, Lecturer
Structural and functional analysis of microbial proteins involved in bacterial virulence, resistance and transcriptional regulation
Office: 11 Barnes Hall; E-mail: mthomas1@ncat.edu; Telephone: 336-285-2178


Dr. Catherine White, Associate Professor
Molecular Microbiology, Genomics of Haemophilus ducreyii
Office: 24 Barnes Hall; E-mail: cdwhite@ncat.edu; Telephone: 336-285-2192