Social Work and Sociology Faculty

Interim Chairperson

 Dr. Barnes_Photo

Department of Social Work and Sociology

Interim Chairperson, Associate Professor of Social Work

Name: Dr. Arnold Barnes

Office:  Gibbs Hall 201 Office A

Email: abarnes@ncat.edu

Phone: 336-285-2296

 Research & Teaching Interests

Interim Director of the Bachelor of Social Work Program

 MN

Department of Social Work and Sociology

Interim Director of the Bachelor of Social Work Program, Associate Professor of Social Work

Name:  Dr. Maura Nsonwu

Office:   Gibbs Hall 114B

Email: mnsonwu@ncat.edu

Phone: 336-285-2052

 Research & Teaching Interests

Director of the Bachelor of Sociology Program

Dr. Carey

Department of Social Work and Sociology

Director of the Bachelor of Sociology Position, Associate Professor of Sociology

Name: Dr. Phillip Carey
Office: Gibbs Hall 206G
Email: careyp@ncat.edu
Phone: 336-285-2295
Research & Teaching Interests

Director Joint Master of Social Work Program (JMSW)

Department of Social Work and Sociology

Director Joint Master of Social Work Program (JMSW), Professor of Social Work

Name: Dr. Jeffrey K. Shears
Office: Gibbs Hall 236
Email: jkshears@ncat.edu
Phone: 336-285-2531
Research & Teaching Interests

Faculty

Dr. An

Department of Social Work and Sociology

Assistant Professor of Social Work

Name: Dr. Soonok An
Office: Gibbs Hall 112A
Email: san@ncat.edu
Phone: 336-285-2049
Research & Teaching Interests

Department of Social Work and Sociology

Associate Professor of Social Work

Name: Dr. Joanne Hessmiller
Office: Gibbs Hall 112B
Email: jmhessmiller@ncat.edu
Phone: 336-285-2246
Research & Teaching Interests

Department of Social Work and Sociology

Associate Professor of Social Work

Name: Dr. Joshua Kirven
Office: Gibbs Hall 231
Email: jkirven@ncat.edu
Phone: 336-285-2303
Research & Teaching Interests

Department of Social Work & Sociology

Associate Professor of Social Work

Name: Dr. Wayne Moore
Office: Gibbs Hall 206E
Email: wmoore@ncat.edu
Phone: 336-285-2302
Research & Teaching Interests
Dr. Parker Photo

Department of Social Work & Sociology

Associate Professor of Social Work

Name: Dr. Sharon Parker
Office: Gibbs Hall 102C
Email: sdparke3@ncat.edu
Phone: 336-285-2297
Research & Teaching Interests
Dr. Walton Photo

Department of Social Work & Sociology

Assistant Professor of Sociology

Name: Dr. Tobin Walton
Office: Gibbs Hall 206D
Email: tnwalton@ncat.edu
Phone: 336-285-2292
Research & Teaching Interests

Department of Social Work and Sociology

Director of BSW Field Education

Name: Dr. Elizabeth Watson
Office: Gibbs Hall 114-A
Email: edwatson@ncat.edu
Phone: 336-285-2306
Research & Teaching Interests

Department of Social Work and Sociology

Assistant Professor of Social Work

Name: Dr. Chiquita L. Welch-Brewer
Office: Gibbs Hall 112-C
Email: clwelchb@ncat.edu
Phone: 336-285-2299
Research & Teaching Interests

Administrative Specialists

 

Department of Social Work and Sociology

Administrative Assistant, Building Representative

Name:  Regina Linney

Office:  Gibbs Hall, Room 201

Email: rlinney@ncat.edu

Phone: 339-285-2298

Bio-Sketch

 Ms. McClinton

Department of Social Work and Sociology

Administrative Assistant

Name:  Madelyn McClinton

Office:  Gibbs Hall, Room 206

Email: mdcclin@ncat.edu

Phone: 336-285-2015

Bio-Sketch

Adjunct Faculty

 

Department of Social Work and Sociology

Adjunct Professor of Sociology

Name: Anderson Bean

Office: Gibbs Hall, Room 206 - H

Email: ambean@ncat.edu

Phone: 336-285-2294

Bio-Sketch

 

Department of Social Work and Sociology

 Adjunct Professor of  Sociology

Name:  Kristen Brown

Office:  Gibbs Hall, Room 206 - H

Email: klbrown3@ncat.edu

Phone: 336-285-2294

Bio-Sketch

 To continue to learn more about our department click here