The JOMC Family

Professors in the Department of Journalism and Mass Communication have backgrounds in its three concentrations – Mass Media Production, Multimedia Journalism and Public Relations. Faculty teach courses, advise individual students, advise student organizations, provide service to the department and the university, and use their expertise in service to their professional and general communities. Our faculty also organize special events that enhance the knowledge and skills students learn in their courses, as well as in courses offered at other institutions. In addition, faculty prepare journalism and mass communication productions that they share with the public via radio stations, TV stations, Web sites, newspapers, magazines, and other media outlets. They conduct research, and disseminate the knowledge and insights from that research through conferences, articles, books, monographs, Web sites, and other means.

Department Administration

wiggins

Gail Wiggins, Assistant Professor (Interim Chair)
B.A., M.S., North Carolina A&T State University
Email: gwiggins@ncat.edu
Office: Crosby 221
Telephone: 336-285-3437
Brief Bio


Faculty

callahan

Linda Florence Callahan, Professor
PhD, MA, Ohio State University
BA, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill;  
Email: lindac@ncat.edu
Office: 223 Crosby
Telephone: 336-285-3442
Brief Bio


blank  

Emily Burch Harris, Lecturer
BA, MA, Marshall University
Email: edburch@ncat.edu
Office: GCB A388E
Telephone: 336-285-3449
Brief Bio


 

drk

Yahya R. Kamalipour, Professor
PhD, University of Missouri-Columbia
MA, University of Wisconsin - Superior
BA, Minnesota State University
Email: ykamalip@ncat.edu
Office: Crosby 221
Telephone: 336-285-3439
Brief Bio
Personal Website:


perry

Arthea B. Perry, Lecturer
MFA, Savannah College of Art and Design
BA, Winston Salem State University
Email: abperry@ncat.edu
Office: Crosby Hall 123
Telephone: 336-285-3434
Brief Bio



kim smith

Kim Smith,  Associate Professor
MMC, PhD, University of South Carolina
BA, Howard University

Email: drksmith1960@yahoo.com; kcsmith1@ncat.edu

Office: Crosby 119
Telephone: 336-285-3430
Brief Bio



blank

Anthony Welborne, Instructor and General Manager, WNAA-FM
BS, MS, North Carolina A&T State University
Email: tonyb@ncat.edu
Office: Crosby 302
Telephone: 336-285-2474
Brief Bio


whitley

Sheila M. Whitley, Associate Professor  
PhD, University of North Carolina at Greensboro
MA, Appalachian State University;
BA, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
AA, Wingate University
Email: whitley@ncat.edu
Office: Crosby Hall 319
Telephone: 336-285-3448
Brief Bio


Adjunct Faculty

mr carter

Michael Carter, Adjunct Lecturer
Email: mhcarter@ncat.edu
Office: Crosby 318
Phone: 336-334-7900

Brief Bio


coleman

Keonte Coleman, Adjunct Lecturer
Email: kcolema3@aggies.ncat.edu
Office: Crosby Hall 220
Telephone: 336-334-7900

Brief Bio


gilmer

Ashley Gilmer, Adjunct Lecturer
Email: ajgilmer@ncat.edu
Office: Crosby 122
Telephone: 336-285-3432


Gary Guffey, Adjunct Lecturer
Email: gcguffey@ncat.edu
Office: Crosby 219
Telephone: 336-334-7900
Brief Bio


blank

Allen Johnson, Adjunct Lecturer
BA, MA, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Email: ajohnson@ncat.edu
Office: 122 Crosby
Telephone: 336-334-7900
Brief Bio


keenan

Dr. Kevin Keenan, Adjunct Lecturer
Email: klkeenan@ncat.edu
Office: Crosby 222
Telephone: 336-285-3433


david

David Squires, Adjunct Lecturer
Email: drsquire@ncat.edu
Office: Crosby 124
Telephone: 336-334-7900
Brief Bio 


Department Staff

hayes

Kiticia (Kaye) Hayes, Administrative Support Associate, JOMC Dept.
Email: kkhayes@ncat.edu
Office: Crosby Hall 220
Telephone: 336-334-7900


ed moye

Edwin Moye, Multimedia Coordinator, (Interim TV Studio Manager)
Email: eemoye@ncat.edu
Office: Crosby 313
Telephone: 336-285-3438


TV Studio Staff

cjones

Caroline Jones, Administrative Support Specialist, TV Studio
Email: cjones15@ncat.edu
Office: Crosby 324
Telephone: 336-285-2099


WNAA Radio Staff

ezinma

Ezinma Murphy, Administrative Support Associate, WNAA Radio
eleakmur@ncat.edu
Office: Crosby 302
Telephone: 336-285-2472