Faculty & Staff

The History Department is composed of talented faculty with diverse and broad ranging research interests.

For more information for any of our department members, use the alphabetical listing below:


Cole, Olen

Professor
Ph.D. University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
American and African-American History
(336) 285-2326
coleo@ncat.edu
311A Gibbs Hall


Fonge, Fuabeh P.

Professor of History
Ph.D. Howard University
African History
(336) 285-2315
fpfonge@ncat.edu
336 Gibbs Hall


Ndege, Conchita

Professor of History
Ph.D. Howard University
African Studies and Museum Studies
(336) 285-2323
ndegec@ncat.edu
317A Gibbs Hall


Porter, Thomas E. 

Professor of History
Ph.D. University of Washington
Russian History and Modern European History
(336) 285-2311
portert@ncat.edu
328 Gibbs Hall


Roberto, Michael J.

Associate Professor of History
Ph.D. Boston College
Contemporary World History and History of Socialism
(336) 285-2313
robertom@ncat.edu
332 Gibbs Hall


Rubio, Philip

Associate Professor of History
Ph.D. Duke University
Twentieth-Century U.S. History and African-American History
(336) 285-4460
pfrubio@ncat.edu
321 Gibbs Hall


Smallwood, Arwin D.

Professor of History and Department Chair
Ph.D. The Ohio State University
African-American, Native-American, and Early American History
(336) 285-2324
asmallwo@ncat.edu
324 Gibbs Hall


Waugh, Dwana

Assistant Professor of History and Coordinator for the History Education and MAT Programs
Ph.D. University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Twentieth-Century U.S. History and History of Education
(336) 285-2318
dlwaugh@ncat.edu
333 Gibbs Hall


Wood, James A.

Professor of History
Ph.D. University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Latin American History and Modern World History
(336) 285-2314
woodj@ncat.edu
330 Gibbs Hall


Zhang, Yunqiu

Associate Professor of History and Associate Chairperson
Ph.D. University of Toronto
Chinese and East Asian History
(336) 285-2312
yzhang@ncat.edu
334 Gibbs Hall