New Department Chairs Announced

Jan. 4, 2018

Dear Colleagues: 

I’m pleased to announce that as we continue to implement the organizational structure change for the College of Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences approved last fall by the North Carolina A&T State University Board of Trustees, we have chosen chairs for our two newly formed departments. 

Dr. Arwin Smallwood, previously the chair of the Department of History since 2013, is now chair of the new Department of History and Political Science. Dr. Smallwood’s experience both as an academic leader and widely published, award-winning scholar will serve the department well as it seeks to establish itself both on campus and with external organizations and prospective students interested in the opportunities within this new unit. Dr. Smallwood holds a Ph.D. in History from The Ohio State University, and has served on the faculties of the University of Memphis and Bradley University, as well as N.C. A&T. 

Dr. George Johnson Jr., dean emeritus and a professor of Law at the Elon University School of Law, will serve as interim chair of the new Department of Criminal Justice. Dr. Johnson led the Elon School of Law from 2009 to 2014, helping the school to achieve accreditation by the American Bar Association. His career prior to Elon included service as assistant counsel for the U.S. House of Representatives Committee on Banking, Finance and Urban Affairs and assistant counsel for the White House Council on Wage and Price Stability, as well as faculty positions at the George Mason University and Howard University law schools. He was president of LeMoyne-Owen College in Memphis, Tenn., from 1996-2002. 

Please join me in welcoming both leaders to their respective positions and supporting the launch of these two exciting new academic departments. 


Craig Rhodes, Ph.D.

Interim Dean, College of Arts, Humanities and Social Science