Senior Vice President, Accreditation and Administration CAEP
deborah eldridge

Deb Eldridge is Senior Vice President for Accreditation and Administration of Council for the Accreditation of Educator Preparation (CAEP). She provides support and leadership for all aspects of accreditation as National Council for Accreditation of Teacher Education (NCATE) and Teacher Education Accreditation Council (TEAC) transition into Council for the Accreditation of Educator Preparation (CAEP).

Her specific duties include overseeing all accreditation processes to ensure excellence, rigor, and consistency; working with institutions tofurther develop the transformation initiative pathway to accreditation; working with international institutions seeking NCATE accreditation and expertise; and encouraging high quality alternate preparation providers to become accredited.

Deb previously served as the Dean of Education at Lehman College of the City University of New York; and was the Principal Investigator of an innovative, 5th year clinical residency program funded by the U.S. Department of Education under the Teacher Quality Partnership (TQP) initiative. She is the author of Teacher Talk: Multicultural Lesson Plans for the Elementary Classroom (1998). In addition to a variety of articles ranging from literacy learning, teaching with technology, and the integration of aesthetic education in teacher preparation, she is co-author of (dis)Comfort Zone: At the Edge of Excellence in Literacy Teaching and Learning (2010).

Chair, Board of Directors CAEP 

frank murray

Frank B. Murray is H. Rodney Sharp Professor in the School of Education and the Department of Psychology at the University of Delaware and served as dean of the College of Education between 1979 and 1995.  He received his B.A. degree from St. John’s College in Annapolis, Maryland and his M.A.T. and Ph.D. degrees from the Johns Hopkins University.

He has served in various capacities on the editorial boards of several journals in developmental and educational psychology and is a fellow in the American Psychological Association, the American Psychological Society and the American Educational Research Association. He was the founding president of the Teacher Education Accreditation Council (TEAC) in Washington, DC and currently serves as chair of the Inquiry Brief Commission and member of the Board of Directors of the new Council for the Accreditation of Educator Preparation (CAEP) in Washington, DC.  Prior to that he was Executive Director of the Holmes Partnership and formerly he was chair of the National Board of its forerunner, the Holmes Group, a consortium of research universities engaged in educational reform.

He was president and co-founder of the Project 30 Alliance, an organization of faculty in education and the liberal arts.  Between 1994 and 1997, he co-edited the Review of Educational Research for the American Educational Research Association. In 1996 he edited The Teacher Educator’s Handbook for the American Association of Colleges of Teacher Education. For his contributions to the fields of child development and teacher education (in which he has published some 200 articles), he was awarded an honorary doctorate from Heriot-Watt University in Edinburgh, Scotland in 1994, inducted into the Laureate chapter of Kappa Delta Pi in 2009, honored with a festschrift by TEAC and the Award of Merit by St. John’s College in 2012 and a Distinguished Alumni Award by the Johns Hopkins University in 2013.

Director, Educator Preparation for the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

mcbroom speaker

Rachel McBroom is currently serving as the Director of Educator Preparation for the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction and is responsible for the state level program approval process, state and federal reporting requirements, and implementation of state and federal policies/laws related to educator preparation. Most recently she served as a Regional Professional Development Lead for the NCDPI, where she supported school districts and charter schools in the Sandhills/South Central region of NC as part of the state's Race to the Top grant. She provided leadership and guidance in the design, delivery, and evaluation of professional development related to the NC Educator Evaluation System, Common Core State Standards, NC Essential Standards, 21st Century Instruction, and other topics as needed. Prior to joining the NCDPI, Rachel served as the Science Education Program Coordinator at UNC Pembroke, where she was actively involved in the teacher education program, teacher recruitment, NCATE and SACS accreditation activities, revisioning, and multiple grants supporting STEM education.  Rachel served as a member of the NSF-funded VisTE curriculum project team at NC State University where she earned her doctorate in Science Education.  Her career began in Cumberland County Schools as a high school science teacher and later as a K-5 science curriculum specialist.