Student Organizations

The College of Engineering at North Carolina Agricultural and Technical State University hosts more than 20 different student organizations, many of which are nationally affiliated. The student organizations provide an excellent opportunity for students to engage in developing their personal, professional, social and service skills. Students are encouraged to become actively involved in their respective department student organizations. In addition to the departmental student organizations, several student organizations allow for participation across various disciplines and students are often able to make important industry contacts through these organizations.

College of Engineering Student Organizations - 2011 -2012

Program

Organization

Advisor

E-Mail

AREN

Architectural Engineering Institute (AEI)

Prof. Bailey

phase@ncat.edu

American Institute of Architectural Students (AIAS)

Prof. Bailey

phase@ncat.edu

Amer. Soc. of Heating, Refrig.&Air Conditioning (ASHRAE)

Dr. Singh

singh@ncat.edu

American Association of Blacks in Energy (AABE)

Prof. Powell

rpowell@ncat.edu

Phi Alpha Epsilon

Prof. Powell

rpowell@ncat.edu

Green Paw

Prof. Powell

rpowell@ncat.edu

BIOE

American Association of Biological Engineers (ASABE)

Dr. Gayles

gayle@ncat.edu

CHEN

American Institute of Chemical Engineering (AiCHe)

Dr. Lou

kroberts@ncat.edu

International Society of Pharmaceutical Engineers

Dr. Roberts

kroberts@ncat.edu

CIEN

American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE)

Taher Abu-Lebdeh

Taher@ncat.edu

Institute of Transportation Engineers

Dr. Ellie Fini

ehajiali@ncat.edu

COMP

Association of Computing Machinery (ACM)

Gina Bullock

glbulloc@ncat.edu

Upsilon Pi Epsilon (UPE)

Shearon Brown

sab@ncat.edu

ECEN

Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE)

Mr. Trevor Taylor

taylort@ncat.edu

INEN

Institute of Industrial Engineers (IIE)

Dr. Zinc Li

zli@ncat.edu

Alpha Pi Mu

Dr. Shelly Qu

xqu@ncat.edu

Human Factors & Ergonomics Society (HFES)

Zongliang Jiang

zjiang@ncat.edu

MEEN

American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME)

Dhananjay Kumar

dkumar@ncat.edu

Pi Tau Sigma

Dr. Dunn

derome@ncat.edu

COE

Tau Beta Pi

Dr. Dunn

derome@ncat.edu

Society of Automotive Engineers (SAE)

Dan Acree

acree@ncat.edu

National Society of Black Engineers (NSBE)

Lee Parrish

parrishl@ncat.edu

Ron Bailey

phase@ncat.edu

Aggie Engineers Toastmasters Club

Lee Parrish

parrishl@ncat.edu

COE Ambassadors

Lee Parrish

parrishl@ncat.edu

Society of Women Engineers (SWE)

Dr. Waters

kwaters@ncat.edu

SHPE

Dr. Maria Palmer

mtpalmer@ncat.edu

The ELITE Student Development Center

The Elevating Leadership in the Engineer (ELITE) Student Development Center is a local center for students designed to provide opportunities for advising, mentoring, supplemental instruction, and other student services. The ELITE Student Development Center is located on the 1st floor of the Cherry Hall engineering building. The ELITE Center includes three supplemental instruction rooms, a student organization room, conference room, copy room and student lounge.

The goal of the ELITE Student Development Center is to coordinate and enhance the student development work currently being done within the departments. There are three main areas of focus for the ELITE Center. They are: personal development, academic support, and professional development. Activities such as workshops, seminars, and informational sessions are offered for student development.