Advising

One of our greatest strengths is our people - their teaching, research, and advising. Faculty, staff, and students work closely together to prepare students for productive careers.

Each student in the College of Engineering is assigned an academic advisor. Freshmen and transfer students are assigned an academic advisor during their new student orientation session. Students are expected to meet with their assigned academic advisor at least three times per semester. If you do not know who your advisor is, please contact your department chairperson or Lee Parrish at parrishl@ncat.edu. Students, please check the office hours for your academic advisor for a walk-in visit or to schedule an appointment outside of regular office hours.

Faculty members also advise undergraduates and work directly with graduate students on advising and research that may lead to a student thesis or dissertation. Advisors assist with course selection and schedule changes, provide information about graduation requirements, and have a wealth of knowledge about opportunities and services available to students.

If your undergraduate major is Undecided with an Engineering, Math or Physics interest, please contact the Center for Academic Excellence (need link) at 336-334-7855 for advising.

Key advising contacts in each department are as follows:

Biological, Bioengineering or Chemical Engineering
Dr. Shamsuddin Ilias
Phone: (336) 334-7564

E-mail: ilias@ncat.edu

Civil and Architectural Engineering
Dr. Taher Abu-Lebdeh
Phone (336) 334-7575
E-mail: taher@ncat.edu

Computer Science
Ms. Shearon Brown
Phone (336) 334-7245

E-mail: sab@ncat.edu

Electrical and Computer Engineering
Mr. Trevor Taylor

Phone: (336) 334-7760

E-mail: taylort@ncat.edu

Industrial & Systems Engineering
Ms. Elaine Vinson

Phone: (336) 334-7780

E-mail: vinson@ncat.edu

Mechanical Engineering
Dr. Derome Dunn

Phone: (336) 334-7620
E-mail: derome@ncat.edu

Points of Pride