Department of Mathematics

Dr. Guoqing Tang, Chairperson

The Mathematics Department provides course work leading to both undergraduate and graduate degrees. The faculty members are active and dedicated scholars, with an enthusiastic interest in teaching, and ongoing, significant, research programs. Innovative teaching methods are integrated through the mathematics curriculum. The faculty is especially interested in the intellectual development of each student, and there is continuous individual contact to provide quality instruction in all areas of mathematics. All graduate faculty teach on both the graduate and undergraduate levels.

Degrees Offered: 

  • To offer degree programs in mathematics at both the undergraduate and graduate levels providing qualifications that lead graduates to work as mathematicians in industry, education, and on to doctoral study and the professorate.
  • To act as a service unit for the entire University, teaching such mathematics courses as other departments deem necessary for their programs.

Department History

From 1915 to 1967, the Department of Mathematics was a part of the School of Engineering of The Agricultural and Technical College of North Carolina, a land grant college created by the Morrill Act.

In 1967 the North Carolina General Assembly re-designated the College as a Regional University effective July 1, 1967. Under this designation, the Department of Mathematics became a part of the newly created School of Arts and Sciences. In September 1968, the Department moved to the newly constructed Merrick Hall. It subsequently moved to the newly constructed Marteena Hall. At that time, the facility included modern classrooms, two computer laboratories and a teacher education laboratory. N.C. A&T became a constituent university of The University of North Carolina in 1972.

The Department of Mathematics initiated a program in Computer Science at the University and from 1981-1992 was the Department of Mathematics and Computer Science, offering degree programs in Mathematics and Computer and Information Science. In 1992, Computer Science was reconstituted as a separate department and relocated to the College of Engineering (located in McNair Hall).

The Department of Mathematics continues to serve two main functions:

The Department of Mathematics delivers on average about 25,000 credit hours worth of instruction per year. Some faculty members of the Department of Mathematics hold joint appointments with the Energy and Environmental Systems Ph.D. program and the Joint School of Nanosciences and Nanoengineering.

Marteena Hall
Marteena Hall is a prominent feature of the north side of campus (nearest Aggie Stadium.) In addition to housing the Department of Mathematics, Marteena Hall houses the Department of Physics, the Greensboro Area Mathematics and Science Education Center (GAMSEC), biology laboratories, two general use computer facilities, a general use student study lounge, a faculty lounge, Marteena 122: the "Undergraduate Computational Research Training Lab," and other administrative offices.

College of Arts and Sciences

Dr. Goldie S. Byrd, Dean

The College of Arts and Sciences is comprised of 13 departments and programs offering undergraduate majors leading to the Bachelor of Arts or the Bachelor of Science, the Bachelor of Fine Arts, and the Bachelor of Social Work degrees. There are Master's programs leading to the Master of Arts or the Master of Science degrees in several fields, as well as the Ph.D. Program in Energy and Environmental Systems. The College Houses the Departments of Biology, Chemistry, Energy and Environmental Systems, History, Journalism and Mass Communication, Liberal Studies, Mathematics, Physics, Political Science and Criminal Justice, Psychology, Sociology and Social Work, Visual and Performing Arts, and Speech. Many degree programs may be pursued jointly with professional education courses (offered in the School of Education). Graduates of these programs qualify for certification to teach in the secondary schools.

North Carolina A & T State University

Dr. Harold L. Martin, Sr, Chancellor

North Carolina A&T State University is one of the State's two land-grant institutions and is a Comprehensive University I offering degree programs at the baccalaureate, master's and doctorate levels. It has one of three engineering schools within the University of North Carolina system, through which it offers a broad range of programs from undergraduate to the Ph.D. It is a participating institution in the Microelectronics Center of North Carolina. It has one of only two schools of agriculture in North Carolina, and its teaching and research programs in animal science have been developed as a related activity to the School of Veterinary Medicine. In these and other specialized areas of activity in fields of science and technology North Carolina A&T State University conducts major sponsored research projects.

Founded in 1891, North Carolina A&T State University is today thriving with enrollment of approximately 10,000 students from throughout the United States and countries around the world. The University strives to provide the teaching-learning-inquiring atmosphere in which students can be well nurtured and fully challenged.

North Carolina A&T State University is organized in the following colleges, schools and divisions:

The School of Agriculture

The College of Arts and Sciences

The School of Business and Economics

The School of Education

The College of Engineering

The School of Nursing

The School of Technology

The School of Graduate Studies

The Division of Continuing Education and Summer School.

Location of the University

North Carolina A&T State University is located in Greensboro, NC located in the Piedmont Triad metropolitan area (population approximately 1.5 million), short drives from both the mountains and the coast. Greensboro enjoys a mild four-season climate and an active student and cultural life.