The JOMC Family

Professors in the Department of Journalism and Mass Communication have backgrounds in its five concentrations – Broadcast Production, Electronic Media and Journalism, Media Management, Print Journalism, and Public Relations. Faculty teach courses, advise individual students, advise student organizations, provide service to the department and the university, and use their expertise in service to their professional and general communities. Our faculty also organize special events that enhance the knowledge and skills students learn in their courses, as well as in courses offered at other institutions. In addition, faculty prepare journalism and mass communication productions that they share with the public via radio stations, TV stations, Web sites, newspapers, magazines, and other media outlets. They conduct research, and disseminate the knowledge and insights from that research through conferences, articles, books, monographs, Web sites, and other means.

 gail wiggins

Wiggins, Gail. Interim Department Chair and Assistant Professor
B.A., M.S., North Carolina A&T State University
Name: Gail Wiggins
Email: gwiggins@ncat.edu
Office: 219 Crosby
Rank: Assistant Professor and Interim Department Chair 2012-2013, 2013-2014


D'Orndra (Dee) Johnson, Administrative Support Associate
Email: drjohns2@ncat.edu
Office: 220 Crosby Hall


Kiticia (Kaye) Hayes, Administrative Support Associate
Email: kkhayes@ncat.edu
Office: 220 Crosby Hall


blank

Atkinson, Charles.  Lecturer
B.S., Appalachian State University
Email: cbatkins@ncat.edu and/or catkinson@news-record.com
Office: 122 Crosby Hall
Rank: Lecturer


linda callahan

Callahan, Linda C. Professor
B.A., University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill; M.A., Ph.D., Ohio State University
Email: lindac@ncat.edu
Office: 223 Crosby
Rank: Professor


bruce clark

Clark, Bruce. Lecturer
B.A., Clark College; M.A., New York University
Email: bgclark@ncat.edu
Office: 318 Crosby
Rank: TV Studio Educational Coordinator/Lecturer


clemons

Clemons, Ricky. Professor
B.A., University of Maryland College Park; M.A. Baruch College New York
Email: arclemon@ncat.edu
Office: 124 Crosby
Rank: Professor


vanessa cunningham-engram
Cunningham-Engram, Vanessa G. Associate Professor
B.A., M.A., University of Louisville; J.D., Louis D. Brandeis School of Law; Ed.D., Spalding University
Name: Dr. Vanessa G. Cunningham-Engram
Email: vgcunnin@ncat.edu
Office: 224 Crosby
Rank: Associate Professor


blank
Davis, Bonnie Newman. Greensboro News& Record- Janice Bryant Howroyd Endowed Professor
B.A., N.C. A&T State University; M.A., The University of Michigan
Email: bbdavis1@ncat.edu
Office: 225 Crosby Hall
Rank: Endowed Professor


blank
Davis, Dawn. Lecturer
B.A., Public Relations, North Carolina A&T State University; M.A., Austin Peay State University
Name: Dawn Nail Davis
Email: dndavis3@ncat.edu
Office: Webb Hall, Office of Enrollment Management
Rank: Associate Director of Undergraduate Admissions /Lecturer


kpdevann
DeVanney, Ken. TV Studio Manager
Email: kpdevann@ncat.edu
Office: 314 Crosby Hall
Rank: TV Studio Manager



blank  
Harris, Emily Burch. Lecturer
B.A., M.A., Marshall University
Email: edburch@ncat.edu
Office: GCB A388E
Rank: Lecturer, Student Newspaper Program Director



blank
Hughes, Sandra. Lecturer
B.S., North Carolina A&T State University
Email: sdhughe1@ncat.edu
Office: 313 Crosby
Rank: Lecturer



blank
Johnson, Allen. Lecturer
B.A., M.A., University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Email: ajohnson@ncat.edu
Office: 122 Crosby
Rank: Adjunct Lecturer



jones
Jones, Jacqueline. Lecturer
B.A., North Carolina A&T State University; M.A., Ball State University
Email: penderj@ncat.edu
Office: 120 Crosby
Rank: Adjunct Lecturer



blank

Mereba, Tamrat.  Professor
B.S., University of Idaho; M.S., University of Wisconsin at LaCrosse; Ph.D., University of Wisconsin at Madison
Email: tmereba@ncat.edu
Office: 317 Crosby
Rank: Professor




blank 

Perry, Benita. Lecturer
B.A., Winston Salem State University; M.F.A., Savannah College of Art and Design
Email: abperry@ncat.edu
Office: Crosby Hall, room 123
Rank: Adjunct Lecturer



kim smith
Smith, Kim.  Assistant Professor
B.A., Howard University; M.M.C., Ph.D., University of South Carolina
Email: drksmith1960@yahoo.com; kcsmith1@ncat.edu
Office: 119 Crosby
Rank: Assistant Professor



teresa styles

Styles, Teresa Jo. Professor
B.A., Spelman College; M.A., Northwestern University; Ph.D., University North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Email: teresaj@ncat.edu
Office: 202 Crosby
Rank: Professor



blank
Welborne, Anthony
Degrees: B.S., M.S., North Carolina A & T State University
Email: tonyb@ncat.edu
Office: 302 Crosby
Rank: Instructor and General Manager, WNAA-FM



sheila whitley
Whitley, Sheila M. Associate Professor and Interim Associate Chair
A.A., Wingate University; B.A., University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill; M.A., Appalachian State University; Ph.D., University of North Carolina at Greensboro
Email: whitley@ncat.edu
Office: 319 Crosby Hall
Rank: Associate Professor and Interim Associate Chair 2012-2013, 2013-2014

Points of Pride