The JOMC Family

Professors in the Department of Journalism and Mass Communication have backgrounds in its five concentrations – Broadcast Production, Electronic Media and Journalism, Media Management, Print Journalism, and Public Relations. Faculty teach courses, advise individual students, advise student organizations, provide service to the department and the university, and use their expertise in service to their professional and general communities. Our faculty also organize special events that enhance the knowledge and skills students learn in their courses, as well as in courses offered at other institutions. In addition, faculty prepare journalism and mass communication productions that they share with the public via radio stations, TV stations, Web sites, newspapers, magazines, and other media outlets. They conduct research, and disseminate the knowledge and insights from that research through conferences, articles, books, monographs, Web sites, and other means.

Department Administration

drk

Yahya R. Kamalipour, Professor and Chair
PhD, University of Missouri-Columbia
MA, University of Wisconsin - Superior
BA, Minnesota State University
Email: ykamalip@ncat.edu
Office: Crosby 221
Telephone: 336-285-3439
Brief Bio
Personal Website: www.kamalipour.com


whitley

Sheila M. Whitley, Associate Professor and Associate Chair  
PhD, University of North Carolina at Greensboro
MA, Appalachian State University;
BA, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
AA, Wingate University
Email: whitley@ncat.edu
Office: Crosby Hall 319
Telephone: 336-285-3448
Brief Bio


Administrative Support

D'Orndra (Dee) Johnson, Administrative Support Associate
Email: drjohns2@ncat.edu
Office: Crosby Hall 220
Telephone: 336-334-7900

Kiticia (Kaye) Hayes, Administrative Support Associate
Email: kkhayes@ncat.edu
Office: Crosby Hall 220
Telephone: 336-334-7900



Faculty

callahan

Linda C. Callahan, Professor
PhD, MA, Ohio State University
BA, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill;  
Email: lindac@ncat.edu
Office: 223 Crosby
Telephone: 336-285-3442
Brief Bio


bruce clark

Bruce Clark, Lecturer, TV Studio Education Coordinator
MA, New York University
BA, Clark College
Email: bgclark@ncat.edu
Office: Crosby 318
Telephone: 336-285-3447
Brief Bio


clemons

Ricky Clemons, Professor
M.A. Baruch College New York
B.A., University of Maryland College Park
Email: arclemon@ncat.edu
Office: Crosby 124
Telephone: 336-285-3435
Brief Bio


vanessa cunningham-engram

Vanessa G. Cunningham-Engram, Associate Professor
J.D., Louis D. Brandeis School of Law;
Ed.D., Spalding University
BA, MA, University of Louisville;
Email: vgcunnin@ncat.edu
Office: Crosby 224
Telephone: 336-285-3443
Brief Bio


blank

Bonnie Newman Davis, Greensboro News & Record- Janice Bryant Howroyd Endowed Professor
MA, The University of Michigan
BA, N.C. A&T State University
Email: bbdavis1@ncat.edu
Office: Crosby Hall 225
Telephone: 336-285-3444
Brief Bio



blank  

Emily Burch Harris, Lecturer
BA, MA, Marshall University
Email: edburch@ncat.edu
Office: GCB A388E
Telephone: 336-285-3449
Brief Bio


shughes

Sandra Hughes,  Lecturer
BS, North Carolina A&T State University
Email: sdhughe1@ncat.edu
Office: Crosby 313
Telephone: 336-334-7900
Brief Bio



blank
Tamrat Mereba, Professor
PhD, University of Wisconsin at Madison
MS, University of Wisconsin at LaCrosse
BS, University of Idaho
Email: tmereba@ncat.edu
Office: Crosby 317
Telephone: 336-285-3446
Brief Bio


perry

Benita Perry, Lecturer
MFA, Savannah College of Art and Design
BA, Winston Salem State University
Email: abperry@ncat.edu
Office: Crosby Hall 123
Telephone: 336-285-3434
Brief Bio
 



kim smith

Kim Smith,  Assistant Professor
MMC, PhD, University of South Carolina
BA, Howard University
Email: drksmith1960@yahoo.com; kcsmith1@ncat.edu
Office: Crosby 119
Telephone: 336-285-3430
Brief Bio


styles

Teresa Jo Styles, Professor
PhD, University North Carolina at Chapel Hill
MA, Northwestern University
BA, Spelman College  
Email: teresaj@ncat.edu
Office: Crosby 202
Telephone: 336-285-3430
Brief Bio



blank

Anthony Welborne, Instructor and General Manager, WNAA-FM
BS, MS, North Carolina A&T State University
Email: tonyb@ncat.edu
Office: Crosby 302
Telephone: 336-285-2474
Brief Bio


wiggins

Gail Wiggins, Assistant Professor
B.A., M.S., North Carolina A&T State University
Email: gwiggins@ncat.edu
Office: Crosby 120
Telephone: 336-285-3437
Brief Bio


Adjunct Faculty

blank

Charles Atkinson, Adjunct Lecturer
BS, Appalachian State University
Email: cbatkins@ncat.edu and/or catkinson@news-record.com
Office: Crosby Hall 122
Telephone: 336-285-3432
Brief Bio


Keonte Coleman, Adjunct Lecturer
Email: kcolema3@aggies.ncat.edu
Office: Crosby Hall 220
Telephone: 336-334-7900
Brief Bio


blank

Dawn Davis,  Lecturer/Associate Director of Undergraduate Admissions
MA, Austin Peay State University
BA, Public Relations, North Carolina A&T State University;
Email: dndavis3@ncat.edu
Office: Webb Hall, Office of Enrollment Management
Telephone: 336-285-3432
Brief Bio


Gary Guffey, Adjunct Lecturer
Email: gcguffey@ncat.edu
Office: Crosby 219
Telephone: 336-334-7900
Brief Bio


blank

Allen Johnson, Adjunct Lecturer
BA, MA, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Email: ajohnson@ncat.edu
Office: 122 Crosby
Telephone: 336-334-7900
Brief Bio


jones

Jacqueline Pender-Jones,  Adjunct Lecturer
MA, Ball State University
BA, North Carolina A&T State University
Email: penderj@ncat.edu
Office: Crosby 121
Telephone: 336-334-7900
Brief Bio


Staff

kpdevann

Ken DeVanney, TV Studio Manager
Email: kpdevann@ncat.edu
Office: Crosby Hall 314
Telephone: 336-285-2066
Brief Bio


Caroline Jones, Administrative Support Associate, TV Studio
Email: cjones15@ncat.edu
Office: Crosby 324
Telephone: 336-285-2099


D. Cherie Lofton, Program Manager, WNAA Radio
Email: loftond@ncat.edu
Office: Crosby 302
Telephone: 336-285-2473


Ezinma Murphy, Administrative Support Associate, WNAA Radio
eleakmur@ncat.edu
Office: Crosby 302
Telephone: 336-285-2472