Faculty

The History Department is composed of talented faculty with diverse and broad ranging research interests.

For more information for any of our department members, use the alphabetical listing below:


Cole, Olen

Professor of History
Ph.D. University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
American and African-American History
(336) 285-2326
coleo@ncat.edu
311A Gibbs Hall


Crawford, James

Assistant Professor of History
Ph.D. University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
U.S. History and U.S. Diplomatic History
(336) 285-4461
jgcrawfo@ncat.edu
335 Gibbs Hall


Cundall, Michael

Assistant Professor and Director of the Honors Program
Ph.D. University of Cincinnati
Philosophy of Psychology and Cognitive Science
(336) 285-2030
mcundall@ncat.edu
110 New Academic Classroom Building


Fonge, Fuabeh P.

Professor of History
Ph.D. Howard University
African History
(336) 285-2315
fpfonge@ncat.edu
336 Gibbs Hall


Foresman, Galen

Assistant Professor of Philosophy
Ph.D. Bowling Green State University
Ethics, Applied Ethics, and Axiology
(336) 285-4464
gaforesm@ncat.edu
337 Gibbs Hall


Hornsby, Karen L.

Associate Professor of Philosophy and Coordinator for Liberal Studies: Pre-Law
Ph.D. Bowling Green State University
Applied Ethics and Political Philosophy
(336) 285-2321
klhornsb@ncat.edu
329 Gibbs Hall


Ndege, Conchita

Professor of History
Ph.D. Howard University
African Studies and Museum Studies
(336) 285-2323
ndegec@ncat.edu
317A Gibbs Hall


Porter, Thomas E. 

Professor of History
Ph.D. University of Washington
Russian History and Modern European History
(336) 285-2311
portert@ncat.edu
328 Gibbs Hall


Roberto, Michael J.

Associate Professor of History
Ph.D. Boston College
Contemporary World History and History of Socialism
(336) 285-2313
robertom@ncat.edu
332 Gibbs Hall


Rubio, Philip

Associate Professor of History
Ph.D. Duke University
Twentieth-Century U.S. History and African-American History
(336) 285-4460
pfrubio@ncat.edu
321 Gibbs Hall


Smallwood, Arwin D.

Professor of History and Department Chair
Ph.D. The Ohio State University
African-American, Native-American, and Early American History
(336) 285-2324
asmallwo@ncat.edu
324 Gibbs Hall


Waugh, Dwana

Assistant Professor of History and Coordinator for the History Education Program
Ph.D. University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Twentieth-Century U.S. History and History of Education
(336) 285-2318
dlwaugh@ncat.edu
333 Gibbs Hall


Williamson, Sandrea T.

Lecturer of History
M.A. University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
African-American History and American Women's History
(336) 285-2030
sandrea@ncat.edu
110B New Academic Classroom Building


Wood, James A.

Associate Professor of History and MAT Program Coordinator
Ph.D. University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Latin American History and Modern World History
(336) 285-2314
woodj@ncat.edu
330 Gibbs Hall


Zhang, Yunqiu

Associate Professor of History
Ph.D. University of Toronto
Chinese and East Asian History
(336) 285-2312
yzhang@ncat.edu
334 Gibbs Hall


Points of Pride