May 2013 English graduates April Cooper (left) and Jasmine Patterson

Student News

Student presents in Princeton

Kashian Scrivens, a senior English student with a concentration in African-American studies, traveled to Princeton, NJ, to deliver a presentation, "Just Like Music: Uising Hip-Hop as a Means to Understand Poetry."

He was one of eight students ro receive the ETS presidential scholarship for HBCU students. That award pays the tuition for a full school year, and one of the requirements is that winners must give a presentation related to their major at the Educational Testing Service headquarters. ETS administers and scores tests such as the GRE, SAT, and others.

Speaking to The Register, Scrivens said, "I wanted to show that there is scholarship in hip-hop despite the fact that it is a heavily criticized genre of music."

Scholarship Winners Announced

            The Scholarship Committee of the Department of English is pleased to announce the following recipients of scholarship funds for Spring 2014. Britney Newton was selected to receive the Ida Freeman Jenkins Endowed Scholarship. The Jenkins scholarship is available to undergraduate English majors based on their academic achievements and a personal essay. Three students were selected to receive scholarships from the Richard E. Moore Endowment. They are Shaniqua Early, Jeremiah Gbozah, and Hilliary Johnson. The Moore scholarship is awarded to sophomore, junior, or senior English majors on the basis of their scholarship, leadership and community service, and an essay.

            The scholarship committee is headed by Valerie Nieman. Members are Dr. Sam Garren, Dr. Michael Greene, Dr. Moussa Issifou, Erica Hohrn, and Robert Randolph.

Congratulations to the May 2013 Graduates

April Cooper (right) and Jasmine Patterson were among the graduating English majors honored at a reception in the dean's conference room. Also graduating in Commencement ceremonies on May 11:

Sara Bodison, Jerica Brown, Keshawnda Byrd, Jasmine Patterson, Justine Riddick, Martamique Ajoku, and Brittni Bennett.

Fall 2012 Dean's List announced

Congratulations to the following students in English and Speech who were named to the Dean's List for Fall 2012.

Allison Austin, Tajanae Barnes, Sara Bodison, Jerica Brown, Arianna Caldeira, James Cameron, April Cooper, Karlyne Cousins-Lee,Tonnette Godard, Jasmine Hooks, Lewis Kindle, Jasmine Miller, Jasmine Patterson, Justine Riddick, Shannon Smith, Pamela Wells, Deon Williams, Mahassa Jones, Sharon Branch, Krystal Isaac, Michael Thomas, Morgan Beatty, Yakeema Bunch, Cheryl Matthews, Sara Richmond, Arianna Allen, Shannon Bowser, AshaBrown, Shaniqua Early, Hillary Johnson, Zenobia McCoy, Channing Milligan, Britney Newton, Na'Brittany Purvis, Tawana Richardson, Kashian Scrivens, Catherine Singletary, Dominique Sykes, Gerald Underwood, Denishie Allen, Chiffon Ballard, Ayodeji Olatoye, Tieshea Perry, Lisa Pratt, Dentrel Sherrod, Abria Wallace, Melisa Abernathy, Sarah Abulibdeh, Samia Austin, Brian Broadney, Christina Brothers, Jasmine Campbell, Tiffany Carson, Shanedra Covington, Ashlee Davis, David Dean, Kelsi  Dogan, Ahsley Edgerton, StarKenya Glenn, Chelsea Grate, Rhondrea Henderson, Knolan Johnson, April Jones, Khalyn Jones, Kendra Kassim, Cherita King, Edwinna Kolio-Hicks, Michele Lamberth, Kendra McPhail, Megan Mills, Keiofia Mitchell, Tabatha Moore,Jalen Poindexter, Cierra Reid, Georgette Reid, Erica Schmidt, Bradley Simeon, Katryse Smith, Patience Stephenson, Kimberly Strater, DaNisha Strong, EbonyTerry, Taylore Thomas, Michelle Thor, Donnica Tripp, Adria Troy.

Applause Café Reading and Performance Series The Applause Cafe, featuring Aggie student poets, returns on Wednesday, Oct. 17, from 11:30 a.m.-12:30 p.m. in the second floor atrium of the General Classroom Building. Featured poets will be Brandon Brockington, Kiara McColl, Jasmine Hooks, Lamar Sharp.

Come out and enjoy the talents of our Creative Writing students. All are welcome, and bring your brown bag and enjoy!
Information: Dr. Anjail Rashida Ahmad ( or Valerie Nieman (

Creative Writing @ NCAT - “Leading with Service – Motivating through Words and Ideas”

Sigma Tau Delta Initiation

         A reception was held April 20 for graduating English majors, both graduate and undergraduate. Sigma Tau Delta inductions were held at that time, with the following inductees: Dr. Anjail Ahmad (faculty), Patrick M. Alexander, Allison L. Austin, Jerica C. Brown, Yakeema Bunch,  Jasmine LaKysha Collins, Makailah Fennell, Kendra Lachelle Gray,  Yulanda Henderson, Jasmine S. Hooks,  Hilliary Johnson, Zeba Khan-Thomas, Rā Lynne Muse, Herbert Marvin Ricks, Jr., Briana Schultz,  Tamyia Turner, and Deon J. Williams.

Taylor Colloquium Held

          The English Composition Committee conducted the Dr. Ethel F. Taylor English Composition Colloquium and Scholarship Award, “Lasting Impressions…Shared Experiences—The Journey to Academic and Professional Excellence.” Seven students in ENGL 101 who wrote the best essays were awarded a total of $650 in scholarship money.  The members of the English Composition Committee also held a fundraiser that netted $800.

Internships in Technical Writing

           Technical Writing students in English 415 had the following internships: Richard Booker at the Times News in Burlington, Augustine Joseph in Senator Kay Hagan's office and Desiree Dixon at Fox 8 News. Other students did their internships in organizations on campus such as developing a Policies and Procedures Manual and promotional material for a proposed "Speech Lab" and off campus organizations such as the International Civil Rights Center and Museum.

Satterfield Scholarship Announced       

            The Scholarship Committee of the Department of English is pleased to announce the recipients of scholarship funds for Spring 2012.

            The Hilda Hayes Fountain Satterfield Foundation agreed to provide a total of $10,000 for merit-based scholarships this year. These are awarded to junior and senior students based on an essay, grade point average, evidence of service and leadership, and need. Receiving awards this year were Sara Bodison, Chante McCullers, Zenobia McCoy, and Justine Riddick.

            "The Satterfield Committee of the English Department is proud to announce its Satterfield Scholars for 2011-2012. These students embody a commitment to both their discipline and their communities,” said Dr. Michele Levy, who chairs the selection committee.

            Satterfield graduated from Hampton Institute, Hampton, VA, and taught for more than four decades. She spent four years in Greensboro schools before spending thirty-eight years at Person County Training School, later named Person County High School, in Roxboro, NC. She organized the Classroom Teachers Division of the North Carolina Teachers’ Association and was its president from 1949-1953. After she retired, she served on the Person County Board of Education.

            MAT Student Honored            

            Nicholas Michael, a student in the MAT program and the chair of a high school English department in High Point, has received a Mission Possible Individual Performance Award of $4,000 in recognition of 2010-2011 student growth “significantly higher than your peers across the state of North Carolina.”