Biology Department Faculty

[Recent Faculty Publications]


Dr. Mary Smith

Professor and Chairperson
Office: 102 Barnes Hall; E-mail: smithma@ncat.edu; Telephone: 336-285-2160
Bioinformatics Analysis of Nuclear Hormone Receptors; Genomics Educational Research and Gene Annotation


Dr. Goldie Byrd

Nathan F. Simms Endowed Professor
Office: A411 General Classroom Building; E-mail: gsbyrd@ncat.edu; Telephone: 336-334-7806
Genetic Susceptibility of Alzheimer's Disease in African Americans


Dr. Roy Coomans
Associate Professor and Associate Chairperson
Office: 223 Barnes Hall; E-mail: coomansr@ncat.edu; Telephone: 336-285-2166
Taxonomy and Distribution of Freshwater Red Algae, Demographics of Rare Plant Populations


Dr. Gregory Goins

Associate Professor
Office: 8 Barnes Hall; E-mail: gdgoins@ncat.edu; Telephone: 336-285-2191
Ecophysicology and Photosynthetic Electron Transport; Science Education


Dr. Andrew Goliszek

Associate Professor
Office: 21 Barnes Hall; E-mail: goliszek@ncat.edu; Telephone: 336-285-2184
Stress Physiology


Dr. Jessica Han

Assistant Professor
Office: 206 Barnes Hall; E-mail: jhan@ncat.edu; Telephone: 336-285-4456
Complex Disease and Nutrition


Dr. Scott Harrison

Assistant Professor
Office: 13 Barnes Hall; E-mail: scotth@ncat.edu; Telephone: 336-285-2179
Computational Biology and Microbiology


Dr. Randall Hayes

Assistant Professor
Office: 11 Barnes Hall; E-mail: rdhayes@ncat.edu; Telephone: 336-285-4462
Neuroscience


Dr. Vinaya Kelkar

Assistant Professor
Office: 19 Barnes Hall; E-mail: vakelkar@ncat.edu; Telephone: 336-285-2183
Statistical Design, Modeling, and Analysis of Experimental and Observational Data; Statistical Analysis of Gene Expression in Microarray Technology; Educational Research Methods


Dr. Patrick Martin

Associate Professor
Office: 300B Hines Hall; E-mail: pmmartin@ncat.edu; Telephone: 336-285-2168
Molecular Biology of Brain Tumors, Breast Cancers and Natural Products Research


Dr. Perpetua Muganda

Professor
Office: 317 Hines Hall; E-mail: pmmugand@ncat.edu; Telephone: 336-285-2190
Molecular Carcinogenesis, Apoptosis and Cell Signaling


Dr. Robert Newman

Assistant Professor
Office: 105 Barnes Hall; E-mail: rhnewman@ncat.edu; Telephone: 336-285-2189
Toxicology, Phosphorylation-dependent Signaling, Fluorescent Biosensor Development, and Live Cell Imaging


Dr. Elimelda Ongeri

Assistant Professor
Office: 215 Barnes Hall; E-mail: eongeri@ncat.edu; Telephone: 336-285-2182
The Role of Meprins in Acute and Chronic Kidney Failure


Mrs. Cailisha L. Petty
Teacher Education Coordinator
Office: 26 Barnes Hall; E-mail: mrspetty@ncat.edu; Telephone: 336-285-2174
African American Student Engagement in Science Education


Dr. Checo Rorie

Assistant Professor
Office: 300A Barnes Hall; E-mail: cjrorie@ncat.edu; Telephone: 336-285-2188
Cancer Biology, Molecular Biology


Dr. Joseph Whittaker

Associate Professor
Office: 213 Barnes Hall; E-mail: whittjoe@ncat.edu; Telephone: 336-285-2167
Microbial Physiology and Genetics


Dr. Catherine White

Associate Professor
Office: 24 Barnes Hall; E-mail: cdwhite@ncat.edu; Telephone: 336-285-2192
Molecular Microbiology, Genomics of Haemophilus ducreyii