Biology Department Faculty

[Directory of Faculty] [Areas of Research] [Recent Publications]

Directory of Faculty

Aldridge, David - A411 General Classroom Building - davida@ncat.edu - 336-334-7806
Bernot, Kelsie - 209 Barnes Hall - kmbernot@ncat.edu - 336-285-2169
Byrd, Goldie - A411 General Classroom Building - gsbyrd@ncat.edu - 336-334-7806
Coomans, Roy - 104 and 223 Barnes Hall - coomansr@ncat.edu - 336-285-2166
Diouf, Fallou - 4 Barnes Hall - fdiouf@ncat.edu - 336-285-2505
Eluka, Eboghoye - 4 Barnes Hall - eoeluka@ncat.edu - 336-285-2209
Goins, Gregory - 8 Barnes Hall - gdgoins@ncat.edu - 336-285-2191
Goliszek, Andrew - 21 Barnes Hall - goliszek@ncat.edu - 336-285-2184
Gurley, Kashenya - 306B Hines Hall - kashenya@ncat.edu - 336-285-2185
Han, Jian - 206 Barnes Hall - jhan@ncat.edu - 336-285-4456
Harrison, Scott - 13 Barnes Hall - scotth@ncat.edu - 336-285-2179
Hayes, Randall - 11 Barnes Hall - rdhayes@ncat.edu - 336-285-4462
Kelkar, Vinaya - 19 Barnes Hall - vakelkar@ncat.edu - 336-285-2183
Lang-Walker, Rosalyn - 120B Hines Hall - rlangwal@ncat.edu - 336-285-2158
Mack, Perry - 211 Barnes Hall - pmack@ncat.edu - 336-285-2181
Martin, Patrick - 300B Hines Hall - pmmartin@ncat.edu - 336-285-2168
Muganda, Perpetua - 317 Hines Hall - pmmugand@ncat.edu - 336-285-2190
Newman, Rob - 105 Barnes Hall - rhnewman@ncat.edu - 336-285-2189
Ongeri, Elimelda - 215 Barnes Hall - eongeri@ncat.edu - 336-285-2182
Petty, Cailisha - 26 Barnes Hall - mrspetty@ncat.edu - 336-285-2174
Platt, Shaquinta - 4 Barnes Hall - sdplatt@ncat.edu - 336-285-2207
Rorie, Checo - 300A Hines Hall - cjrorie@ncat.edu - 336-285-2188
Smith, Mary - 102 Barnes Hall - smithma@ncat.edu - 336-285-2199
White, Angela - 103 Barnes Hall - amwhite@ncat.edu - 336-285-2356
White, Catherine - 24 Barnes Hall - cdwhite@ncat.edu - 336-285-2192
Whittaker, Joseph - 213 Barnes Hall - whittjoe@ncat.edu - 336-285-2167
Young, Candice - 4 Barnes Hall - ctyoung@aggies.ncat.edu - 336-285-2178

Areas of Research


Dr. Mary Smith, Professor and Chairperson
Bioinformatics Analysis of Nuclear Hormone Receptors; Genomics Educational Research and Gene Annotation
Office: 102 Barnes Hall; E-mail: smithma@ncat.edu; Telephone: 336-285-2160


Dr. Goldie Byrd, Nathan F. Simms Endowed Professor and Dean of the College of Arts and Sciences
Genetic Susceptibility of Alzheimer's Disease in African Americans
Office: A411 General Classroom Building; E-mail: gsbyrd@ncat.edu; Telephone: 336-334-7806


Dr. Roy Coomans, Associate Professor and Associate Chairperson
Taxonomy and Distribution of Freshwater Red Algae, Demographics of Rare Plant Populations
Office: 223 Barnes Hall; E-mail: coomansr@ncat.edu; Telephone: 336-285-2166


Dr. Gregory Goins, Associate Professor
Ecophysicology and Photosynthetic Electron Transport; Science Education
Office: 8 Barnes Hall; E-mail: gdgoins@ncat.edu; Telephone: 336-285-2191


Dr. Andrew Goliszek, Associate Professor
Stress Physiology
Office: 21 Barnes Hall; E-mail: goliszek@ncat.edu; Telephone: 336-285-2184


Dr. Jessica Han, Assistant Professor
Complex Disease and Nutrition
Office: 206 Barnes Hall; E-mail: jhan@ncat.edu; Telephone: 336-285-4456


Dr. Scott H. Harrison, Assistant Professor
Office: 13 Barnes Hall; E-mail: scotth@ncat.edu; Telephone: 336-285-2179
Computational Biology and Microbiology


Dr. Randall Hayes, Assistant Professor
Neuroscience, Biology Education and Outreach
Office: 11 Barnes Hall; E-mail: rdhayes@ncat.edu; Telephone: 336-285-4462


Dr. Vinaya Kelkar, Assistant Professor
Statistical Design, Modeling, and Analysis of Experimental and Observational Data; Statistical Analysis of Gene Expression in Microarray Technology; Educational Research Methods
Office: 19 Barnes Hall; E-mail: vakelkar@ncat.edu; Telephone: 336-285-2183


Dr. Rosalyn Lang-Walker, Assistant Professor
Genetics of Alzheimer's Disease, Community Based Participatory Research in Health Access, Impact of Family Dynamics and caregiving on Alzheimer's Disease Care Management
Office: 19 Barnes Hall; E-mail: rlangwal@ncat.edu; Telephone: 336-285-2158


Dr. Patrick Martin, Associate Professor
Molecular Biology of Brain Tumors, Breast Cancers and Natural Products Research
Office: 300B Hines Hall; E-mail: pmmartin@ncat.edu; Telephone: 336-285-2168


Dr. Perpetua Muganda, Professor
Molecular Carcinogenesis, Apoptosis and Cell Signaling
Office: 317 Hines Hall; E-mail: pmmugand@ncat.edu; Telephone: 336-285-2190


Dr. Robert Newman, Assistant Professor
Toxicology, Phosphorylation-dependent Signaling, Fluorescent Biosensor Development, and Live Cell Imaging
Office: 105 Barnes Hall; E-mail: rhnewman@ncat.edu; Telephone: 336-285-2189


Dr. Elimelda Ongeri, Assistant Professor
The Role of Meprins in Acute and Chronic Kidney Failure
Office: 215 Barnes Hall; E-mail: eongeri@ncat.edu; Telephone: 336-285-2182


Mrs. Cailisha L. Petty, Teacher Education Coordinator
African American Student Engagement in Science Education
Office: 26 Barnes Hall; E-mail: mrspetty@ncat.edu; Telephone: 336-285-2174


Dr. Checo Rorie, Assistant Professor
Cancer Biology, Molecular Biology
Office: 300A Barnes Hall; E-mail: cjrorie@ncat.edu; Telephone: 336-285-2188


Dr. Joseph Whittaker, Associate Professor
Microbial Physiology and Genetics
Office: 213 Barnes Hall; E-mail: whittjoe@ncat.edu; Telephone: 336-285-2167


Dr. Catherine White, Associate Professor
Molecular Microbiology, Genomics of Haemophilus ducreyii
Office: 24 Barnes Hall; E-mail: cdwhite@ncat.edu; Telephone: 336-285-2192

Points of Pride