Accreditation and State Authorization Information

NCA&TSU Accreditation

North Carolina Agricultural & Technical State University is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC).   SACSCOC  is the recognized regional accrediting body in the eleven U.S. Southern states (Alabama, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas and Virginia) and in Latin America for those institutions of higher education that award associate, baccalaureate, master's or doctoral degrees. SACSCOC is recognized by the U.S. Department of Education and provides assurance to students, parents and all stakeholders that NCA&TSU meets clear quality standards for educational and financial performance,

State Authorizations

North Carolina Agricultural & Technical State University is currently exempt or not subject to approval to offer online courses, degree programs, and certificate programs via distance education in the following states. If you reside in any of the states listed below, you may register for North Carolina A&T’s online classes, assuming all admission requirements and pre- or co-requisites are met:

  • Arizona
  • California
  • Colorado
  • Connecticut
  • Delaware
  • Florida
  • Idaho
  • Indiana
  • Iowa
  • Kentucky
  • Louisiana
  • Maryland
  • Massachusetts
  • Michigan
  • Mississippi
  • Montana
  • Nebraska
  • New Hampshire
  • North Carolina
  • Ohio
  • South Carolina
  • South Dakota
  • Texas
  • Vermont
  • Virginia
  • Washington (Electronics Technology, Geomatics, Environmental Safety & Health, Information Technology, and Technology Management, Only)
  • West Virginia
  • Wisconsin

Due to recent changes in higher education regulations, North Carolina Agricultural & Technical State University will no longer be able to accept applications for admission, allow registration for courses, or offer online courses, degree programs, and certificate programs for students residing in:

  • Alabama
  • Alaska
  • Arkansas
  • District of Columbia
  • Georgia
  • Hawaii
  • Illinois
  • Kansas
  • Maine
  • Minnesota
  • Missouri
  • Nevada
  • New Jersey
  • New Mexico
  • New York
  • North Dakota
  • Oklahoma
  • Oregon
  • Pennsylvania
  • Rhode Island
  • Tennessee
  • Utah
  • Wyoming

North Carolina Agricultural & Technical State University will continue to monitor developments in state laws in each state in which it enrolls students and, if authorization or licensure is or becomes necessary, will obtain such additional approvals.

State Contact Information

Pursuant to the United States Department of Education’s Program Integrity Rule, each institution of higher education is required to provide all prospective and current students with the contact information of the state agency or agencies that handle complaints against postsecondary education institutions offering distance learning within that state. Students are encouraged to utilize North Carolina A&T State University’s internal complaint or review policies and procedures prior to filing a complaint with a state agency. Click here to access a list of contacts from each state in which a student may file a complaint.